Abbey's Bookshop Logo
Go to my checkout basket
Login to Abbey's Bookshop
Register with Abbey's Bookshop
Gift Vouchers
Browse by Category

Sub-Categories of Social Sciences & Law


Narrow Your Search

By Availability


By Format


By Price


By Publication Date


Social Sciences & Law - "Try to love one another right now" at Abbey's Bookshop.

458,300 results

Global Activism in Food Politics: Power Shift

978/113/734/9781137341396.jpg

Global Activism in Food Politics: Power Shift

A. Mann

Development studies; Aid & relief programmes; Politics & government; Pressure groups & lobbying; Non-governmental organisations (NGOs)

Hardback

Alana Mann explores the food sovereignty campaigns of civil society organisations in Chile, Mexico and Spain in the context... [more]

$139.95  $25.00

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Disability, Public Space Performance and Spectatorship: Unconscious Performers

978/113/739/9781137396075.jpg

Disability, Public Space Performance and Spectatorship: Unconscious Performers...

Bree Hadley

Art & design styles: from c 1960; Performance art; Theatre Studies; Disability: social aspects

Hardback

In Disability, Public Space Performance and Spectatorship: Unconscious Performers, Bree Hadley examines the performance practices... [more]

$130.95  $20.00

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Little Demon in the City of Light: A True Story of Murder and Mesmerism in Belle Epoque Paris

978/038/553/9780385536035.jpg

Little Demon in the City of Light: A True Story of Murder and Mesmerism...

Steven Levingston

Biography; True crime; European history; History: specific events & topics; Hypnosis

Hardback

A delicious account of a murder most gallic think  CSI Paris  meets Georges Simenon whose lurid combination of sex, brutality,... [more]

$42.95  $15.00

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The News: A User's Manual

978/030/737/9780307379122.jpg

The News: A User's Manual

Alain de Botton

Journalistic style guides; Philosophy; Popular culture; Media studies

Hardback

Explores our relationship with 'the news'. Mixing current affairs with philosophical reflections, this title offers a guide... [more]

$49.95  $18.00

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Wilson

978/039/915/9780399159213.jpg

Wilson

A. Scott Berg

Biography: historical, political & military; History; Political leaders & leadership

Hardback

In the tradition of Truman, John Adams, and Team of Rivals, a Pulitzer Prize and National Book Award-winning biographer... [more]

$71.95  $20.00

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Obento Supreme 4th Ed Student Book

978/017/019/9780170198271.jpg

Obento Supreme 4th Ed Student Book

Kyoko Kusumoto, Ayako Lyons, Jacqueline Brown, Anne Fisher, Jean Swinyard

Teachers' classroom resources & material; Educational: Languages other than English; Languages & ESL

Paperback

The new editions of the Obento series have been updated in response to teachers feedback and changing emphases in the curriculum... [more]

$65.95

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Saudi Arabia and the Global Islamic Terrorist Network: America and the West's Fatal Embrace

978/113/703/9781137034694.jpg

Saudi Arabia and the Global Islamic Terrorist Network: America and the West's...

S. Stern

Politics & government; International relations; Terrorism, armed struggle

Paperback

Saudi Arabia influences American policy through both conventional and unconventional methods, all due to the petro-dollars... [more]

$63.95  $20.00

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Real-Time Diplomacy: Politics and Power in the Social Media Era

978/023/033/9780230339439.jpg

Real-Time Diplomacy: Politics and Power in the Social Media Era

Philip Seib

Politics & government; Diplomacy; Political control & freedoms

Paperback

In light of the events of 2011, Real-Time Diplomacy examines how diplomacy has evolved as media have gradually reduced the... [more]

$40.95  $12.00

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
New Technologies and the Media

978/023/028/9780230282216.jpg

New Technologies and the Media

Gerard Goggin

Society & Social Sciences; Media studies; Impact of science & technology on society

Paperback

This book is essential reading for all media students and researchers - and for anyone interested in getting to grips with... [more]

$42.95  $10.00

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
China in the Twenty-First Century: Challenges and Opportunities

978/023/012/9780230120723.jpg

China in the Twenty-First Century: Challenges and Opportunities

Shiping Hua, Sujian Guo

History; Marxism & Communism; Political structure & processes; International relations

Paperback

In this edited volume, leading scholars from US and China analyze the challenges and opportunities for China in the 21st century,... [more]

$65.95  $18.00

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
A Practical Guide to Family Therapy: Structured Guidelines and Key Skills

978/098/086/9780980864939.jpg

A Practical Guide to Family Therapy: Structured Guidelines and Key Skills...

Paul Rhodes, Andrew Wallis

Social work; Psychology; Clinical psychology

Paperback

Experienced clinicians - from social work, counselling, psychology, psychiatry, psychotherapy, and other disciplines who... [more]

$59.95

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Interest Representation in the European Union

978/023/027/9780230271944.jpg

Interest Representation in the European Union

Justin Greenwood

Politics & government; EU & European institutions

Paperback

The fully revised third edition of this highly-acclaimed book provides an authoritative and comprehensive assessment of the... [more]

$75.95  $12.00

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Obento Supreme 4th Ed Workbook & CD & DVD

978/017/019/9780170198349.jpg

Obento Supreme 4th Ed Workbook & CD & DVD

Kyoko Kusumoto, Ayako Lyons, Jacqueline Brown, Anne Fisher, Jean Swinyard

Teachers' classroom resources & material; Educational: Languages other than English; Languages & ESL

Mixed media product

The new editions of the Obento series have been updated in response to teachers feedback and changing emphases in the curriculum... [more]

$44.95

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Study Skills Handbook (4th Edition)

978/113/728/9781137289254.jpg

Study Skills Handbook (4th Edition)

Stella Cottrell

Study & learning skills: general; Languages & ESL

Other merchandise

Fully revised for the fourth edition, it contains everything students need to succeed. This is an invaluable resource for... [more]

$40.95

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Beyond Boundaries: The New Neuroscience of Connecting Brains with Machines---And How It Will Change Our Lives

978/080/509/9780805090529.jpg

Beyond Boundaries: The New Neuroscience of Connecting Brains with Machines---And...

Miguel Nicolelis, M.D.

Physiological & neuro-psychology, biopsychology; Mathematics & Sciences; Neurosciences; Human-computer interaction

Hardback

A pioneering neuroscientist from Duke University shows how the long-sought merger of brains with machines is about to become... [more]

$44.95  $15.00

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
No Dictionary Please: The Importance of the Family Word

978/145/378/9781453783597.jpg

No Dictionary Please: The Importance of the Family Word

N K Wyvill

Education; Languages & ESL

Paperback

NO DICTIONARY PLEASE-THE IMPORTANCE OF THE WORD FAMILY is an easy guide for understanding English Grammar terms and parts... [more]

$34.95

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Dimensions of Australian Society

978/142/025/9781420256215.jpg

Dimensions of Australian Society

Brian Graetz, Ian McAllister

History; Society & culture: general; Sociology

Paperback

The scope of this new edition is comprehensive. Family, gender, ethnicity and religion provide the early focus, together with... [more]

$79.95  $6.00

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Palgrave Advances: Global Governance

978/023/020/9780230201668.jpg

Palgrave Advances: Global Governance

Jim Whitman

Globalization; Politics & government; Political structure & processes; International relations; International institutions; Political economy

Paperback

Palgrave Advances in Global Governance is an authoritative collection devoted to clarifying established understandings of... [more]

$54.95  $15.00

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Media Communication: An Introduction to Theory and Process

978/023/053/9780230535497.jpg

Media Communication: An Introduction to Theory and Process

James Watson

Society & Social Sciences; Media studies

Paperback

This new edition of a popular book provides an overview of mass media in society today. With illuminating examples and greater... [more]

$68.95  $12.00

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Understanding Global Media

978/140/392/9781403920492.jpg

Understanding Global Media

Terry Flew

Society & Social Sciences; Cultural studies; Media studies; Globalization

Paperback

Understanding Global Media offers a comprehensive overview of global media production and circulation. The book analyzes media... [more]

$65.95  $12.00

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Thai Language and Culture for Beginners 1 Book

978/974/751/9789747512250.jpg

Thai Language and Culture for Beginners 1 Book

Yuphaphann Hoonchamlong

Language teaching & learning material & coursework; Cultural studies; Languages & ESL

Paperback

Provides a basic foundation in conversational Standard Thai for beginning learners. It focuses on developing the learners'... [more]

$71.95

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Globalization: A Critical Introduction

978/033/397/9780333977026.jpg

Globalization: A Critical Introduction

Jan Aart Scholte

Cultural studies; Politics & government; International relations

Paperback

A systematically revised and updated new edition of a highly acclaimed text which was an immediate bestseller on courses around... [more]

$72.95  $20.00

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Making Globalisation

978/140/394/9781403948687.jpg

Making Globalisation

Professor Robert Holton

Sociology & anthropology; Politics & government

Paperback

This book offers a clear and concise account of the key debates in the globalization literature, serving as an accessible... [more]

$71.95  $15.00

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Media Research Methods: Audiences, Institutions, Texts

978/033/396/9780333960950.jpg

Media Research Methods: Audiences, Institutions, Texts

Ina Bertrand, Peter J. E. Hughes

Research methods: general; Society & Social Sciences; Cultural studies; Media studies; Social research & statistics

Paperback

This text provides an accessible introduction and overview of research methods for studying media, communication and culture,... [more]

$71.95  $15.00

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Communist Manifesto

978/014/044/9780140447576.jpg

The Communist Manifesto

Friedrich Engels, Karl Marx

Marxism & Communism; Literature, Poetry & Criticism

Paperback

The Communist Manifesto presents a summary of the whole Marxist vision of history and is the foundation document of the... [more]

$14.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
My Shopping Basket
Your cart does not contain any items.