Abbey's Bookshop Logo
Go to my checkout basket
Login to Abbey's Bookshop
Register with Abbey's Bookshop
Gift Vouchers
Browse by Category

Sub-Categories of Social Sciences & Law


Narrow Your Search

By Availability


By Format


By Price


By Publication Date


Social Sciences & Law

245,870 results

Trans Kids and Teens: Pride, Joy, and Families in Transition

978/039/371/9780393713992.jpg

Trans Kids and Teens: Pride, Joy, and Families in Transition

Elijah C. Nealy

Child & developmental psychology; Psychotherapy; Health & Self-Help

Paperback

A comprehensive guide to the medical, emotional, and social issues of trans kids. [more]

$26.95

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Nobody's Victim: Fighting Psychos, Stalkers, Pervs and Trolls

978/034/901/9780349010533.jpg

Nobody's Victim: Fighting Psychos, Stalkers, Pervs and Trolls

Carrie Goldberg

Society & Social Sciences; Violence in society; Crime & criminology; Offences against the person

Paperback

Nobody's Victim is an unflinching look at a hidden world most people don't know exists - one of stalking, blackmail, and sexual... [more]

$32.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Art in Law

978/192/582/9781925826562.jpg

Art in Law

Nicholas Hasluck

Jurisprudence & general issues

Paperback

[more]

$24.95

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Progress Vs Parasites: A Brief History of the Conflict that's Shaped our World

978/178/669/9781786691569.jpg

Progress Vs Parasites: A Brief History of the Conflict that's Shaped our...

Douglas Carswell

Politics & government; Political ideologies; Political activism

Paperback

From Ancient Athens the modern day, a radical look at how world history has been shaped by the constant struggle between the... [more]

$19.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Hate Mail

978/014/378/9780143787020.jpg

Hate Mail

Mark Morri

Biography; True crime; Organised crime

Paperback

Sydney, 1998. Personal trainer Brett Boyd arrives home to find a package waiting in the driveway. It's addressed to his girlfriend,... [more]

$34.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Lost Girls: The Invention of the Flapper

978/178/914/9781789140712.jpg

Lost Girls: The Invention of the Flapper

Linda Simon

History; Social & cultural history; Gender studies: women

Paperback

Lost Girls: The Invention of the Flapper is a spirited revisionist history of the iconic, mythic flapper, which gives fresh... [more]

$24.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
How to Overcome Your Childhood

978/199/991/9781999917999.jpg

How to Overcome Your Childhood

The School of Life

Popular philosophy; Psychology; Popular psychology

Paperback

This book is a guide to better understanding our younger selves in order to shape who we wish to be in the future. It explores... [more]

$19.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Ka

978/024/139/9780241399224.jpg

Ka

Roberto Calasso

Fiction & Literature; Hindu sacred texts; Ancient religions & mythologies; Folklore, myths & legends

Paperback

Slowly, however, the strange becomes familiar and - as Ka folds and enfolds the world of the Deva and the Seven Seers, of... [more]

$22.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Man's Best Friend: The inspiring true story of Sergeant Luke Warburton, his police dog Chuck and the crime-busting Dog Unit

978/073/364/9780733641817.jpg

Man's Best Friend: The inspiring true story of Sergeant Luke Warburton,...

Luke Warburton, Simon Bouda

Biography; Memoirs; True stories of heroism, endurance & survival; Police & security services; Farm & working animals; Dogs as pets

Paperback

The inspiring true story of police officer Luke Warburton and his best friend, Chuck the police dog, and their dangerous operations... [more]

$32.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Poster Boy: A Memoir of Art and Politics

978/176/064/9781760641337.jpg

Poster Boy: A Memoir of Art and Politics

Peter Drew

Art & design styles: Conceptual art; Biography; Memoirs; Society & culture: general

Paperback

'When you're sneaking around the city at night you feel like a kid again. The seriousness of the world is unmasked as a series... [more]

$29.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Shame On Me

978/192/584/9781925849011.jpg

Shame On Me

Tessa McWatt

Biography; Memoirs; Ethnic minorities & multicultural studies; The self, ego, identity, personality; Family history, tracing ancestors

Paperback

'What are you?' Tessa McWatt knows first-hand that the answer to this question, often asked of people of colour by white... [more]

$29.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
First, they Erased Our Name: A Rohingya speaks

978/192/584/9781925849110.jpg

First, they Erased Our Name: A Rohingya speaks

Habiburahman, Sophie Ansel

Memoirs; History; Refugees & political asylum; Social discrimination; Ethnic studies; International humanitarian law

Paperback

For the first time, a Rohingya speaks up to expose the persecution facing his people [more]

$32.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The History of Jihad: From Muhammad to Isis

978/164/293/9781642932560.jpg

The History of Jihad: From Muhammad to Isis

Robert Spencer

Middle Eastern history; Religion & beliefs; Islam; Political ideologies

Paperback

The comprehensive history of the role of war and terror in the spread of Islam. It is taken for granted, even among many Washington... [more]

$35.95

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Breakfast with the Centenarians: The Art of Ageing Well

978/178/649/9781786494832.jpg

Breakfast with the Centenarians: The Art of Ageing Well

Daniela Mari

Psychology of ageing; Medicine; Geriatric medicine; Popular science; Popular medicine & health

Paperback

Learn the art of growing old from the supercentenarians living life to the fullest. [more]

$24.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The House of Islam: A Global History

978/140/887/9781408872284.jpg

The House of Islam: A Global History

Ed Husain

Religion & beliefs; Islam; Politics & government

Paperback

'A powerful corrective' Guardian 'This should be compulsory reading' Peter Frankopan, author of The Silk Roads `For... [more]

$22.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Beyond Reasonable Doubt (#1 Elliot Rook QC)

978/152/660/9781526606136.jpg

Beyond Reasonable Doubt (#1 Elliot Rook QC)

Gary Bell

Fiction & Literature; Crime & mystery; Criminal law & procedure

Paperback

The start of a thrilling new legal series, perfect for fans of Robert Galbraith and The Secret Barrister, written by an acclaimed... [more]

$29.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
In Miniature: How Small Things Illuminate The World

978/178/689/9781786890795.jpg

In Miniature: How Small Things Illuminate The World

Simon Garfield

Society & Social Sciences; Material culture

Paperback

A delightful and peculiar exploration of the human instinct to make things small, from the bestselling author of Just My Type... [more]

$24.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Yemen in Crisis: The Road to War

978/178/873/9781788735537.jpg

Yemen in Crisis: The Road to War

Helen Lackner

History; Middle Eastern history; International relations

Paperback

Expert analysis of Yemen's social and political crisis, with profound implications for the fate of the Arab World [more]

$34.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Dogs (#2 STAGS)

978/147/140/9781471407994.jpg

Dogs (#2 STAGS)

M A Bennett

Freemasonry & secret societies; Children's & Educational; General fiction (Children's&YA); Thrillers (Children's&YA)

Paperback

As the students begin to rehearse it, events become increasingly dark and strange, and they lead Greer back to where she never... [more]

$19.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
A Woman Like Her: The Short Life of Qandeel Baloch

978/152/660/9781526607577.jpg

A Woman Like Her: The Short Life of Qandeel Baloch

Sanam Maher

Biography; Biography: general; True crime; Criminal investigation & detection

Paperback

`The powerful story of a woman who was ahead of her time' Mishal Husain, presenter at BBC World News, BBC Weekend News, BBC... [more]

$29.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Songspirals: Sharing Women's Wisdom of Country Through Songlines

978/176/063/9781760633219.jpg

Songspirals: Sharing Women's Wisdom of Country Through Songlines

Laklak Burarrwanga, Ritjilili Ganambarr, Merrkiyawuy Ganambarr-Stubbs, Banbapuy Ganambarr, Sarah Wright

History; Gender studies: women; Indigenous peoples

Paperback

'We want you to come with us on our journey, our journey of songspirals. Songspirals are the essence of people in this land,... [more]

$34.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Women, Men and the Whole Damn Thing

978/176/087/9781760877729.jpg

Women, Men and the Whole Damn Thing

David Leser

Society & Social Sciences; Feminism & feminist theory

Paperback

<div>One of the most talked-about and widely praised articles of our time becomes the water-cooler book of the #MeToo era.</div><div><br... [more]

$29.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Football Solution: How Richmond's premiership can save Australia

978/176/089/9781760892746.jpg

The Football Solution: How Richmond's premiership can save Australia

George Megalogenis

Politics & government; Sports & outdoor recreation; Australian Rules football

Paperback

A sport unlike any other in the world, football has always been Australia's bellwether. But at a time when politics is increasingly... [more]

$22.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Dealing with the Russians

978/150/952/9781509527625.jpg

Dealing with the Russians

Andrew Monaghan

History; Political science & theory

Paperback

How to handle Russia? This question has become ever more prominent as the Euro-Atlantic community's relations with Russia... [more]

$31.95

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Democracy Hacked: How Technology is Destabilising Global Politics

978/178/607/9781786075758.jpg

Democracy Hacked: How Technology is Destabilising Global Politics

Martin Moore

Media studies; Politics & government; Political structures: democracy; Impact of science & technology on society

Paperback

Democracy isn't dying. It's mutating. [more]

$22.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
My Shopping Basket
Your cart does not contain any items.