Abbey's Bookshop Logo
Go to my checkout basket
Login to Abbey's Bookshop
Register with Abbey's Bookshop
Gift Vouchers
Browse by Category

Sub-Categories of Social Sciences & Law


Narrow Your Search

By Availability


By Format


By Price


By Publication Date


Social Sciences & Law - "Try to love one another right now" at Abbey's Bookshop.

432,131 results

Arnhem: The Battle for the Bridges, 1944: The Sunday Times No 1 Bestseller

978/024/132/9780241326763.jpg

Arnhem: The Battle for the Bridges, 1944: The Sunday Times No 1 Bestseller...

Antony Beevor

History; Second World War; Battles & campaigns

Paperback

Beevor's inimitable and gripping narrative style expounds on much more than a single dramatic battle. It looks into the very... [more]

$35.00

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Year Everything Changed: 2001

978/014/378/9780143782414.jpg

The Year Everything Changed: 2001

Phillipa McGuinness

Memoirs; Prose: non-fiction; History; Society & culture: general; Politics & government

Paperback

Beginning with a personal tragedy, publisher and author Phillipa McGuinness looks in detail at the year 2001 - a phenomenal... [more]

$34.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Secret World: A History of Intelligence

978/071/399/9780713993660.jpg

The Secret World: A History of Intelligence

Christopher Andrew

History; Espionage & secret services; Advocate - History

Hardback

The first-ever detailed, comprehensive history of intelligence, from Moses and Sun Tzu to the present day [more]

$69.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
From the Edge: Australia's Lost Histories

978/052/286/9780522862591.jpg

From the Edge: Australia's Lost Histories

Mark McKenna

History; Indigenous peoples

Paperback

Offers an imaginative and original new telling of modern Australia through the history and stories of ten places, all revisited... [more]

$34.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Good, the Bad and the Unlikely (Updated Edition)

978/186/395/9781863958790.jpg

The Good, the Bad and the Unlikely (Updated Edition)

Mungo MacCallum

History; Australasian & Pacific history; 20th century history: c 1900 to c 2000; Political leaders & leadership

Paperback

Good drinkers, bad swimmers and unlikely heroes. Since Australia's birth in 1901, twenty-seven politicians have run the national... [more]

$22.99  $10.00

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
China and the EU in Context: Insights for Business and Investors

978/113/735/9781137352385.jpg

China and the EU in Context: Insights for Business and Investors

Kerry Brown

Politics & government; Economics; Investment & securities; International business

Hardback

Brings together the research of world-class commentators on China from across Europe to explore the policy aspects of the... [more]

$72.95  $20.00

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Wilson

978/039/915/9780399159213.jpg

Wilson

A Scott Berg

Biography: historical, political & military; History; Political leaders & leadership

Hardback

In the tradition of Truman, John Adams, and Team of Rivals, a Pulitzer Prize and National Book Award-winning biographer... [more]

$71.95  $20.00

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Party Time: Who Runs China And How

978/186/395/9781863955911.jpg

Party Time: Who Runs China And How

Rowan Callick

History; Political ideologies; Political parties

Paperback

Who is running China? As the third generation since Mao takes charge, where does real power lie? In Party Time, Rowan Callick... [more]

$29.99

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
From the Corner of the Oval Office: One woman's true story of her accidental career in the Obama White House

978/178/763/9781787630888.jpg

From the Corner of the Oval Office: One woman's true story of her accidental...

Beck Dorey-Stein

Memoirs; History; History of the Americas; Political leaders & leadership; Advocate - History

Paperback

In 2012, Beck Dorey-Stein was just scraping by in Washington DC when a posting on Craigslist landed her, improbably, in the... [more]

$35.00

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Logical Family: A Memoir

978/178/416/9781784161040.jpg

Logical Family: A Memoir

Armistead Maupin

Biography; Autobiography: literary; Gay studies (Gay men); Advocate - Biography

Paperback

In this funny, poignant and unflinchingly honest memoir, one of the world's best-loved storytellers explains how he evolved... [more]

$24.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
First Confession: A Sort of Memoir

978/014/198/9780141983875.jpg

First Confession: A Sort of Memoir

Chris Patten

Biography; Autobiography: historical, political & military; Memoirs; Roman Catholicism, Roman Catholic Church; Geopolitics; Advocate - Biography

Paperback

The acclaimed memoir by the bestselling author and the best politician-writer... [more]

$22.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
A Coveted Possession: The Rise and Fall of the Piano in Australia

978/186/395/9781863959919.jpg

A Coveted Possession: The Rise and Fall of the Piano in Australia

Michael Atherton

Keyboard instruments; History; Social & cultural history; Material culture; Advocate - History

Paperback

What has lived with us, entertained us, travelled with us and symbolised Australian aspirations, only to end up gathering... [more]

$34.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Knowledge Solution: Politics

978/052/287/9780522873832.jpg

The Knowledge Solution: Politics

Various Authors

History; Politics & government; Advocate - History

Paperback

Can a return to direct democracy reconnect a jaded electorate with an out-of-touch establishment? Would reforming Canberra's... [more]

$29.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Run for Your Life

978/052/287/9780522873139.jpg

Run for Your Life

Bob Carr

Biography; Biography: historical, political & military; Autobiography: historical, political & military; Memoirs; Politics & government; Advocate - Australian Biography; Advocate - Politics

Paperback

Most political memoirs are boring.<br /><br />Bob Carr tears up the rules.... [more]

$34.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Democracy and Its Crisis

978/178/607/9781786074065.jpg

Democracy and Its Crisis

A. C. Grayling

Popular philosophy; Politics & government; Political structures: democracy; Advocate - Politics

Paperback

An urgent exploration of the challenges facing democracy today [more]

$19.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Art of the Good Life: Clear Thinking for Business and a Better Life

978/147/366/9781473667525.jpg

The Art of the Good Life: Clear Thinking for Business and a Better Life...

Rolf Dobelli

Psychology; Self-help & personal development; Advocate - Today's World

Paperback

A short, surprising and indispensable toolkit for practical living, from the author of the Sunday Times and International... [more]

$22.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Yes We (Still) Can: Politics in the age of Obama, Twitter and Trump

978/174/379/9781743795033.jpg

Yes We (Still) Can: Politics in the age of Obama, Twitter and Trump

Dan Pfeiffer

History; History of the Americas; 21st century history: from c 2000 -; Media studies; Political leaders & leadership

Paperback

From Obama's former communications director and current co-host of Pod Save America comes an entertaining and enlightening... [more]

$32.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Reds Under the Bed: ASIO and an unusual bunch of suspects

978/192/527/9781925272987.jpg

Reds Under the Bed: ASIO and an unusual bunch of suspects

Michael Komesaroff

Memoirs; History; Australasian & Pacific history; Espionage & secret services

Paperback

Who were the Reds under the bed? Why did ASIO snoop on several members of this migrant family struggling to set up a new life... [more]

$25.00

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Siege: The Powerful and Uncompromising Story of What Happened Inside the Lindt Cafe and Why the Police Response Went So Tragically Wrong

978/176/029/9781760296933.jpg

Siege: The Powerful and Uncompromising Story of What Happened Inside the...

Deborah Snow

Biography; Police & security services; Terrorist attack; Crime Chronicle - True Crime

Paperback

'I'm sure you [will be] as shocked and bewildered by what you've learnt, as I was.' - 'Afterword', Louisa Hope, Lindt Cafe... [more]

$32.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
#NeverAgain: A New Generation Draws the Line

978/198/480/9781984801838.jpg

#NeverAgain: A New Generation Draws the Line

David Hogg, Lauren Hogg

History; Students & student organisations; Politics & government; Political science & theory

Paperback

Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School, Parkland, Florida. [more]

$14.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
This Whispering in Our Hearts Revisited

978/174/223/9781742235622.jpg

This Whispering in Our Hearts Revisited

Henry Reynolds

History; Colonialism & imperialism; Indigenous peoples; Land rights

Paperback

Listening to the whispering in his own heart, Henry Reynolds was led into the lives of remarkable and largely forgotten white... [more]

$32.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Notes on a Nervous Planet

978/178/689/9781786892676.jpg

Notes on a Nervous Planet

Matt Haig

Memoirs; Psychology; Coping with illness; Coping with anxiety & phobias

Paperback

The follow-up to the number one Sunday Times bestseller Reasons to Stay Alive [more]

$27.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Digital Ape: How to Live (in peace) with Smart Machines

978/192/532/9781925322545.jpg

The Digital Ape: How to Live (in peace) with Smart Machines

Nigel Shadbolt, Roger Hampson

Society & culture: general; Mathematics & Sciences; Popular science; Technology: general issues; Artificial intelligence

Paperback

How smart machines are transforming us all - and what we should do about it. [more]

$32.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Big Ideas: The Little Book of Psychology

978/024/134/9780241341285.jpg

Big Ideas: The Little Book of Psychology

DK

Psychology; Popular psychology

Paperback

The Little Book of Psychology clearly explains more than 100 groundbreaking ideas in this fascinating field of science. How... [more]

$16.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The 21 Escapes of Lt Alastair Cram: A compelling story of courage and endurance in the Second World War

978/150/982/9781509829576.jpg

The 21 Escapes of Lt Alastair Cram: A compelling story of courage and endurance...

David M. Guss

True stories of heroism, endurance & survival; History; 20th century history: c 1900 to c 2000; Second World War; Prisoners of war

Paperback

The extraordinary - and never before told - story of Alastair Cram, the British soldier who escaped from prisoner-of-war camps... [more]

$32.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
My Shopping Basket
Your cart does not contain any items.