Abbey's Bookshop Logo
Go to my checkout basket
Login to Abbey's Bookshop
Register with Abbey's Bookshop
Gift Vouchers
Browse by Category

Sub-Categories of Science & Medicine


Narrow Your Search

By Availability


By Format


By Price


By Publication Date


Science & Medicine - You really must see Abbey's Great Wall of Science.

237,442 results

Farmageddon in Pictures: The True Cost of Cheap Meat

978/140/887/9781408873465.jpg

Farmageddon in Pictures: The True Cost of Cheap Meat

Philip Lymbery

Food & society; Food manufacturing & related industries; Mathematics & Sciences

Paperback

<b>Farmageddon: the quiet revolution of mega-farming that is threatening our countryside, farms, and food.</b> [more]

$19.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Golden Ticket: P, NP, and the Search for the Impossible

978/069/117/9780691175782.jpg

The Golden Ticket: P, NP, and the Search for the Impossible

Lance Fortnow

Mathematics & Sciences; Calculus & mathematical analysis; Optimisation; History of mathematics; Popular science

Paperback

The P-NP problem is the most important open problem in computer science, if not all of mathematics. Simply stated, it asks... [more]

$36.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Gladiators, Pirates and Games of Trust: How Game Theory, Strategy and Probability Rule Our Lives

978/178/678/9781786780102.jpg

Gladiators, Pirates and Games of Trust: How Game Theory, Strategy and Probability...

Haim Shapira

Mathematics & Sciences; Game theory

Paperback

This book provides many humorous anecdotes and insightful examples of how our daily lives are affected by Game Theory. Game... [more]

$22.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The China Study: The Most Comprehensive Study of Nutrition Ever Conducted and the Startling Implications for Diet, Weight Loss, and Long-Term Health

978/194/163/9781941631560.jpg

The China Study: The Most Comprehensive Study of Nutrition Ever Conducted...

T. Colin Campbell, Thomas M. Campbell

Medicine; Diets & dieting

Paperback

In this eclectic anthology of essays, former cast member Jewel Staite, Kaylee, philosopher Lyle Zynda, sex therapist Joy... [more]

$26.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Your Daily Maths: 366 Number Puzzles and Problems to Keep You Sharp

978/143/516/9781435165397.jpg

Your Daily Maths: 366 Number Puzzles and Problems to Keep You Sharp

Laura Laing

Mathematics & Sciences

Paperback

This book lays out a year's worth of exercises meant to get you thinking about maths in a different way. Laing's approach... [more]

$22.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Aquatic Ape Hypothesis

978/028/564/9780285643611.jpg

The Aquatic Ape Hypothesis

Elaine Morgan

Mathematics & Sciences; Evolution

Paperback

The classic account of the theory that human evolution had an aquatic origin, did humans descend from a semi-aquatic environment?... [more]

$17.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
All About ADHD

978/149/263/9781492637868.jpg

All About ADHD

Thomas Phelan

Neurology & clinical neurophysiology; Health & Self-Help; Popular medicine & health; Coping with illness

Paperback

All About ADHD is a comprehensive guide to ADHD's symptoms, diagnosis, and treatment in children and adults, including information... [more]

$22.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Environmental Protection: What Everyone Needs to Know

978/019/022/9780190223076.jpg

Environmental Protection: What Everyone Needs to Know

Pamela Hill

Environmental economics; International environmental law; Mathematics & Sciences; Management of land & natural resources; Pollution & threats to the environment

Paperback

In 1962, Rachel Carson's Silent Spring sounded an alarm: the natural environment is being dangerously degraded because of... [more]

$20.95

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Turing Guide

978/019/874/9780198747833.jpg

The Turing Guide

Jack Copeland, Jonathan Bowen, Mark Sprevak, Robin Wilson

Mathematics & Sciences; Mathematics; History of mathematics; Impact of science & technology on society; Popular science

Paperback

This carefully edited resource brings together contributions from some of the world's leading experts on Alan Turing to create... [more]

$40.95

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Mesmerist: The Society Doctor Who Held Victorian London Spellbound

978/147/460/9781474602303.jpg

The Mesmerist: The Society Doctor Who Held Victorian London Spellbound

Wendy Moore

Biography: science, technology & engineering; History of medicine; Mathematics & Sciences

Paperback

From the author of the No. 1 bestseller WEDLOCK, the story of two pioneering men of science, and a nation in thrall to mesmerism...... [more]

$32.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Quantum World: The Disturbing Theory at the Heart of Reality

978/147/362/9781473629462.jpg

The Quantum World: The Disturbing Theory at the Heart of Reality

New Scientist

Mathematics & Sciences; Popular science; Quantum physics (quantum mechanics & quantum field theory)

Paperback

In The Quantum World leading physicists and New Scientist take you on a journey through quantum theory, its mind-bending properties... [more]

$32.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
A Dictionary of Science

978/019/873/9780198738374.jpg

A Dictionary of Science

Jonathan Law

Reference; Reference works; Mathematics & Sciences; Science: general issues; Physics

Paperback

This bestselling dictionary contains more than 9,500 entries on all aspects of chemistry, physics, biology (including human... [more]

$26.95

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Poison Principle: A Memoir About Family Secrets and Literary Poisonings

978/192/514/9781925143379.jpg

The Poison Principle: A Memoir About Family Secrets and Literary Poisonings...

Gail Bell

Biography; Memoirs; Crime & criminology; Medical toxicology

Paperback

Intricate, elegant, and beautifully realised, The Poison Principle is a masterful book about family secrets and literary poisonings.... [more]

$24.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Natural Resources and Environmental Justice: Australian Perspectives

978/148/630/9781486306374.jpg

Natural Resources and Environmental Justice: Australian Perspectives

Anna Lukasiewicz, Stephen Dovers, Libby Robin, Jennifer Mckay, Steven Schilizzi

Mathematics & Sciences

Paperback

Provides the first comprehensive, interdisciplinary examination of justice research in Australian environmental management,... [more]

$89.95

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Practical Latin for Gardeners: More Than 1500 Essential Plant Names and the Secrets They Contain

978/176/029/9781760295950.jpg

Practical Latin for Gardeners: More Than 1500 Essential Plant Names and...

James Armitage

Reference works; History; Horticulture; Gardening

Paperback

Practical Latin for Gardeners is a timely and useful guide to plant names based on the bestselling Latin for Gardeners. It... [more]

$24.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
A Sunburnt Childhood: Growing Up in the Territory

978/073/363/9780733637810.jpg

A Sunburnt Childhood: Growing Up in the Territory

Toni Tapp Coutts

Biography; Memoirs; Rural communities; Animal husbandry

Paperback

For fans of Sheryl McCorry's DIAMONDS AND DUST and Sara Henderson, this is the story of Toni Tapp Coutts's extraordinary childhood... [more]

$19.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Evolution of Beauty: How Darwin's Forgotten Theory of Mate Choice Shapes the Animal World - And Us

978/038/553/9780385537216.jpg

The Evolution of Beauty: How Darwin's Forgotten Theory of Mate Choice Shapes...

Richard O Prum

Mathematics & Sciences; Evolution; Birds (ornithology); Sex & sexuality, sex manuals

Hardback

A major reimagining of how evolutionary forces work, revealing how mating preferences--what Darwin termed the taste for the... [more]

$54.95

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Miracle Cure: The Creation of Antibiotics and the Birth of Modern Medicine

978/052/542/9780525428107.jpg

Miracle Cure: The Creation of Antibiotics and the Birth of Modern Medicine...

William Rosen

Medical laboratory testing & techniques; History of medicine; Pharmacology; Mathematics & Sciences; History of science

Hardback

For fans of Microbe Hunters The epic history of how antibiotics were born, saving millions of lives and creating a vast new... [more]

$51.95

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Death by Dim Sim: How I Beat Obesity

978/014/378/9780143782117.jpg

Death by Dim Sim: How I Beat Obesity

Sarah Vincent

Medicine; Diets & dieting

Paperback

Sarah Vincent once tipped the scales at 122 kilos. She worked at the back of a hospital making calls and answering emails,... [more]

$34.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Time to Die

978/052/287/9780522870930.jpg

Time to Die

Rodney Syme

Ethical issues: euthanasia & right to die; Medicine

Paperback

Rodney Syme has been an advocate for medically assisted dying for more than twenty years. In Time to Die he reflects on those... [more]

$32.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Plant Hunters

/978/023/300/9780233005164.jpg

The Plant Hunters

Carolyn Fry

Mathematics & Sciences; Trees, wildflowers & plants; Advocate - Science

Hardback

A story of our fascination with plants and the discovery of new species. This book traces the establishment of botanical gardens... [more]

$39.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Transgender Children and Youth: Cultivating Pride and Joy with Families in Transition

978/039/371/9780393711394.jpg

Transgender Children and Youth: Cultivating Pride and Joy with Families...

Elijah C. Nealy

Child & developmental psychology; Psychotherapy; Health & Self-Help

Hardback

A comprehensive guide to the medical, emotional and social issues of trans children. [more]

$39.95

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Story of Pain: From Prayer to Painkillers

978/019/968/9780199689439.jpg

The Story of Pain: From Prayer to Painkillers

Professor Joanna Bourke

Social & cultural history; Society & Social Sciences; History of ideas; History of medicine; Pain & pain management; Popular science

Paperback

The story of pain and suffering since the eighteenth century. Prize-winning historian Joanna Bourke charts how our understanding... [more]

$22.95

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
What a Fish Knows: The Inner Lives of Our Underwater Cousins

978/178/607/9781786071224.jpg

What a Fish Knows: The Inner Lives of Our Underwater Cousins

Jonathan Balcombe

Mathematics & Sciences; Popular science; Animal behaviour; Fishes (ichthyology)

Paperback

We found Nemo and we're looking for Dory - now we need a radical rethink of the way we think about fish [more]

$26.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Eureka!: The Birth of Science

978/178/578/9781785781919.jpg

Eureka!: The Birth of Science

Andrew Gregory

Western philosophy: Ancient, to c 500; Mathematics & Sciences; Philosophy of science; History of science

Paperback

An exploration of the eruption of scientific activity in the Ancient Greek world [more]

$19.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Your cart does not contain any items.