Abbey's Bookshop Logo
Go to my checkout basket
Login to Abbey's Bookshop
Register with Abbey's Bookshop
Gift Vouchers
Browse by Category

Sub-Categories of Religion & beliefs


Narrow Your Search

By Availability


By Format


By Price


By Publication Date


Religion & beliefs

1,063 results

The Pilgrim's Regress

978/000/825/9780008254582.jpg

The Pilgrim's Regress

C. S. Lewis

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Religion & beliefs; Personal Christian testimony & inspirational works

Paperback

One of C. S. Lewis' works of fiction, or more specifically allegory, this book is clearly modelled upon Bunyan's Pilgrim's... [more]

$19.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Einstein and the Rabbi: Searching for the Soul

978/125/029/9781250293923.jpg

Einstein and the Rabbi: Searching for the Soul

Naomi Levy

Religion & beliefs; Religion & science

Hardback

A bestselling author and rabbi's profoundly affecting exploration of the meaning and purpose of the soul, inspired by the... [more]

$24.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
NIV Ruby Thinline Bible: Pink Shimmer Imitation Leather

978/147/367/9781473673731.jpg

NIV Ruby Thinline Bible: Pink Shimmer Imitation Leather

New International Version

Religion & beliefs; Bibles

Hardback

Be inspired by the wisdom of the Scriptures in this special ruby anniversary edition of the NIV Bible. [more]

$45.00

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Evangelicals: The Struggle to Shape America

978/143/913/9781439131343.jpg

The Evangelicals: The Struggle to Shape America

Frances FitzGerald

History; History of the Americas; History of religion; Christianity; Political science & theory

Paperback

Synopsis coming soon....... [more]

$29.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
God: The Most Unpleasant Character in All Fiction

978/145/493/9781454930105.jpg

God: The Most Unpleasant Character in All Fiction

Dan Barker

Religion & beliefs; Nature & existence of God; Agnosticism & atheism

Paperback

This unique book was originally conceived as a joint presentation between influential thinker and bestselling author Richard... [more]

$24.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The House of Islam: A Global History

978/140/887/9781408872277.jpg

The House of Islam: A Global History

Ed Husain

Religion & beliefs; Islam; Politics & government

Paperback

'Not just timely but important too. Ed Husain does not just set out the fundamentals of Islam as a religion but explains how... [more]

$29.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
`So That You Might Know Each Other': Faith and Culture in Islam

978/192/195/9781921953323.jpg

`So That You Might Know Each Other': Faith and Culture in Islam

National Museum of Australia

Exhibition catalogues & specific collections; Religion & beliefs

Paperback

COLLECTIONS FROM THE VATICAN ANIMA MUNDI MUSEUM, THE SHARJAH MUSEUMS AUTHORITY AND THE NATIONAL MUSEUM OF AUSTRALIA `So... [more]

$29.95

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Ancient World in Minutes

978/178/648/9781786485816.jpg

The Ancient World in Minutes

Charles Phillips

History; Ancient history: to c 500 CE; Ancient religions & mythologies

Paperback

The history and achievements of the first great civilizations [more]

$19.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The King and the Catholics: The Fight for Rights 1829

978/147/460/9781474609661.jpg

The King and the Catholics: The Fight for Rights 1829

Antonia Fraser

History; British & Irish history; Modern history to 20th century: c 1700 to c 1900; Revolutions, uprisings, rebellions; Roman Catholicism, Roman Catholic Church

Paperback

From beloved historian Antonia Fraser comes the dramatic story of how Catholics in Britain won back their rights after two... [more]

$32.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Crossway

978/150/984/9781509844609.jpg

The Crossway

Guy Stagg

Memoirs; Christian worship, rites & ceremonies; Travel & holiday; Travel writing

Paperback

Simultaneously a breathtaking account of a physical journey and a memoir about recovering from mental illness. [more]

$32.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Dictionary of Gypsy Mythology: Charms, Rites, and Magical Traditions of the Roma

978/162/055/9781620556672.jpg

Dictionary of Gypsy Mythology: Charms, Rites, and Magical Traditions of...

Claude Lecouteux

Dictionaries; Religion & beliefs; Folklore, myths & legends; Mysticism, magic & ritual

Hardback

A comprehensive A-to-Z reconstruction of the oral tradition of the Rom--gypsies--based on sources never before available in... [more]

$52.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Chosen Wars: How Judaism Became an American Religion

978/141/657/9781416573265.jpg

The Chosen Wars: How Judaism Became an American Religion

Steven R Weisman

History of the Americas; Modern history to 20th century: c 1700 to c 1900; Social & cultural history; Religion & beliefs; Judaism; Jewish studies

Hardback

Weisman's meticulously researched and fluently argued book is a compelling story of a glorious past. It is also a guide to... [more]

$54.95

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Dangerous Illusions: How Religion Deprives Us Of Happiness

978/191/135/9781911350286.jpg

Dangerous Illusions: How Religion Deprives Us Of Happiness

Vitaly Malkin

Philosophy; Religion & beliefs; Philosophy of religion; Religion & politics; Religion & science; Agnosticism & atheism

Hardback

Based on 10 years of dedicated research, Dangerous Illusions is a battle cry for the human race to throw off religion in favour... [more]

$49.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Penelopiad

978/178/689/9781786892485.jpg

The Penelopiad

Margaret Atwood

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Religion & beliefs

Paperback

Penelope's slyly brilliant side of the story, from the Booker Prize-winning author of The Blind Assassin and The Handmaid's... [more]

$19.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
New Testament (French/English)

978/031/045/9780310450030.jpg

New Testament (French/English)

Zondervan

Bibles; Languages & ESL

Paperback

This French / English Bilingual New Testament presents a side-by-side treatment of the contemporary French Semeur translation... [more]

$16.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Bible du Semeur/Holy Bible (Semeur/Niv)

978/031/045/9780310450023.jpg

Bible du Semeur/Holy Bible (Semeur/Niv)

Zondervan

Bibles; Languages & ESL

Paperback

This French / English Bilingual Bible presents a side-by-side treatment of the contemporary French La Bible du Semeur translation... [more]

$29.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Boy Erased: A Memoir of Identity, Faith and Family

978/000/827/9780008276980.jpg

Boy Erased: A Memoir of Identity, Faith and Family

Garrard Conley

Biography; Memoirs; Christian aspects of sexuality, gender & relationships; Gay studies (Gay men)

Paperback

NOW A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE STARRING LUCAS HEDGES, RUSSELL CROWE AND NICOLE KIDMAN, AND WRITTEN AND DIRECTED BY JOEL EDGERTON... [more]

$24.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Returned: They Left to Wage Jihad, Now They're Back

978/150/952/9781509526918.jpg

The Returned: They Left to Wage Jihad, Now They're Back

David Thomson

History; Religious intolerance, persecution & conflict; Islam; Terrorism, armed struggle

Paperback

Since 2012, hundreds of men and women have left Western countries to join jihadist groups fighting in Syria. Many are still... [more]

$35.95

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Training in Tenderness: Buddhist Teachings on Tsewa, the Radical Openness of Heart That Can Change the World

978/161/180/9781611805581.jpg

Training in Tenderness: Buddhist Teachings on Tsewa, the Radical Openness...

Dzigar Kongtrul

Religion & beliefs

Paperback

The Tibetan term tsewa is difficult to define, but it can be translated, according to Dzigar Kongtr l, as an open heart,... [more]

$24.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
In Search of Wisdom: A Monk, a Philosopher, and a Psychiatrist on What Matters Most

978/168/364/9781683640240.jpg

In Search of Wisdom: A Monk, a Philosopher, and a Psychiatrist on What Matters...

Matthieu Ricard, Christophe Andre, Alexandre Jollien

Religion & beliefs; Buddhism; Spiritualism; Assertiveness, motivation & self-esteem; Psychic powers & psychic phenomena

Paperback

In the tradition of Ricard's bestseller The Monk and The Philosopher comes a book that explores some of humanity's enduring... [more]

$28.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Martin Buber's I and Thou

978/191/245/9781912453610.jpg

Martin Buber's I and Thou

Simon Ravenscroft

Philosophy; Western philosophy, from c 1900 -; Religion: general

Paperback

Martin Buber's I and Thou argues that humans engage with the world in two ways. One is with the attitude of an `I' towards... [more]

$12.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Courage of Hopelessness: Chronicles of a Year of Acting Dangerously

978/014/198/9780141986098.jpg

The Courage of Hopelessness: Chronicles of a Year of Acting Dangerously...

Slavoj Zizek

Philosophy; Social & political philosophy; Religion & politics

Paperback

The maverick philosopher returns to explore today's idealogical, political and economic battles, and asks whether radical... [more]

$19.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Why I Am a Hindu

978/192/571/9781925713534.jpg

Why I Am a Hindu

Shashi Tharoor

Religion & beliefs; Hinduism

Paperback

Shashi Tharoor offers a profound re-examination of Hinduism, one of the world's oldest and greatest religious traditions.... [more]

$32.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Book of Revelation: A Biography

978/069/114/9780691145839.jpg

The Book of Revelation: A Biography

Timothy Beal

Religion & beliefs; History of religion

Hardback

The life and times of the New Testament's most mystifying and incendiary book Few biblical books have been as revered and... [more]

$54.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Little Book of Christian Mysticism: Essential Wisdom of Saints, Seers, and Sages

978/157/174/9781571747747.jpg

The Little Book of Christian Mysticism: Essential Wisdom of Saints, Seers,...

Carl McColman (Carl McColman)

Religion & beliefs; Christian mysticism

Paperback

In the tradition of Pope Francis' Little Book of Wisdom and The Dalai Lama's Little Book of Buddhism, THE LITTLE BOOK OF CHRISTIAN... [more]

$32.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
My Shopping Basket
Your cart does not contain any items.