Abbey's Bookshop Logo
Go to my checkout basket
Login to Abbey's Bookshop
Register with Abbey's Bookshop
Gift Vouchers
Browse by Category

Sub-Categories of Personal & social issues


Narrow Your Search

By Availability


By Format


By Price


By Publication Date


Personal & social issues

34,981 results

The Survival Game

978/144/494/9781444944525.jpg

The Survival Game

Nicky Singer

Adventure stories (Children's&YA); Social issues: environment & green issues (Children's&YA)

Paperback

In a world full of checkpoints and controls, can love and hope defy the borders? A searing, timely story, as arresting as... [more]

$16.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Fallen Angels

978/054/505/9780545055765.jpg

Fallen Angels

Walter Dean Myers

Children's & Educational; Adventure stories (Children's&YA); Personal & social issues

Paperback

To commemorate the 20th anniversary of the publication of Fallen Angels, a gripping account of soldiers struggling to survive... [more]

$16.95

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Mapping the Bones

978/052/551/9780525516002.jpg

Mapping the Bones

Jane Yolen

Children's & Educational; Historical fiction (Children's&YA); Personal & social issues: siblings (Children's&YA)

Paperback

From the legendary author of The Devil's Arithmetic, Jane Yolen, comes her first Holocaust novel in nearly thirty years. Influenced... [more]

$19.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Natural Born Loser

978/014/350/9780143505730.jpg

Natural Born Loser

Oliver Phommavanh

Children's & Educational; Personal & social issues: siblings (Children's&YA); Personal & social issues: racism & multiculturalism (Children's&YA); Personal & social issues: truancy & school problems (Children's&YA); Social issues (Children's&YA); Advocate - Children's

Paperback

Barryjong Primary School is a joke. The teachers have lost their will to teach, the buildings are old and tired with not even... [more]

$16.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Eagle Inside

978/176/012/9781760125271.jpg

The Eagle Inside

Jack Manning Bancroft

Children's & Educational; Personal & social issues: self-awareness & self-esteem (Children's&YA)

Paperback

Jimmy is the smallest bird at school. Surrounded by big, tough birds, he feels different in every way and is certain he will... [more]

$14.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Isabelle Day Refuses to Die of a Broken Heart

978/081/669/9780816699223.jpg

Isabelle Day Refuses to Die of a Broken Heart

Jane St. Anthony

Children's & Educational; General fiction (Children's&YA); Personal & social issues: death & bereavement (Children's&YA)

Paperback

It's the Midwest in the early 1960s, and Isabelle is reeling from a loss that's too hard to think--let alone talk--about.... [more]

$14.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Teenage Guide to Life Online

978/140/637/9781406377903.jpg

The Teenage Guide to Life Online

Nicola Morgan

Children's & Educational; Practical interests (Children's&YA); Science & technology: general interest (Children's&YA); Personal & social issues

Paperback

The authoritative guide to the online world by the award-winning author of Blame My Brain, The Teenage Guide to Stress and... [more]

$16.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Rabbit and Bear (#3 Rabbit and Bear)

978/144/492/9781444921724.jpg

Rabbit and Bear (#3 Rabbit and Bear)

Julian Gough

Children's & Educational; Animal stories (Children's&YA); Humorous stories (Children's&YA); Personal & social issues: self-awareness & self-esteem (Children's&YA)

Paperback

Gorgeously illustrated and with a classic feel, this is a brilliantly funny story of a rabbit and a bear who discover that... [more]

$14.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Such a Good Girl

978/148/144/9781481449588.jpg

Such a Good Girl

Amanda K. Morgan

Children's & Educational; General fiction (Children's&YA); Thrillers (Children's&YA); Family & home stories (Children's&YA); Personal & social issues: family issues (Children's&YA)

Paperback

Synopsis coming soon....... [more]

$17.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Outside In

978/144/246/9781442468283.jpg

Outside In

Jennifer Bradbury

Children's & Educational; Children's & young adult fiction & true stories; Traditional stories (Children's&YA); Historical fiction (Children's&YA); Social issues: religious issues (Children's&YA)

Paperback

In the jungle outside the growing city of Chandigarh, twelve-year-old street child Ram discovers a hidden rock garden, befriends... [more]

$12.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
My Messed-Up Life

978/178/344/9781783445523.jpg

My Messed-Up Life

Susin Nielsen

Children's & Educational; Family & home stories (Children's&YA); Personal & social issues: divorce, separation, family break-up (Children's&YA); Personal & social issues: siblings (Children's&YA)

Paperback

Violet is not impressed with her TV director dad: he's decided to abandon his family in Vancouver to start over with a new... [more]

$17.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Warden's Daughter

978/037/583/9780375832024.jpg

The Warden's Daughter

Jerry Spinelli

Children's & Educational; Children's & young adult fiction & true stories; Family & home stories (Children's&YA); Personal & social issues: family issues (Children's&YA); Personal & social issues: death & bereavement (Children's&YA); Personal & social issues: self-awareness & self-esteem (Children's&YA); Advocate - Children's

Paperback

Cammie mother died saving her from harm when she was just a baby. Now, on the eve of her 13th birthday, the thing Cammie most... [more]

$12.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Watched

978/055/353/9780553534214.jpg

Watched

Marina Budhos

Children's & Educational; Children's & young adult fiction & true stories; Personal & social issues

Paperback

Watched by his hardworking Bangladeski parents [more]

$16.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Mirror, Mirror

978/140/917/9781409172765.jpg

Mirror, Mirror

Cara Delevingne

Children's & Educational; Thrillers (Children's&YA); Romance & relationships stories (Children's&YA); Family & home stories (Children's&YA); Personal & social issues: self-awareness & self-esteem (Children's&YA); Personal & social issues: sexuality & relationships (Children's&YA)

Paperback

Debut novel by actress and model Cara Delevingne, perfect for fans of WE WERE LIARS, THIRTEEN REASONS WHY and THE GIRLS. [more]

$16.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Everything All at Once

978/150/988/9781509880034.jpg

Everything All at Once

Steven Camden

Children's & Educational; Poetry (Children's&YA); School stories (Children's&YA); Personal & social issues: truancy & school problems (Children's&YA)

Paperback

A week in Secondary School where everything happens all at once... [more]

$16.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Dog with Seven Names

978/014/378/9780143787457.jpg

The Dog with Seven Names

Dianne Wolfer

Second World War; Children's & Educational; Animal stories (Children's&YA); Social issues: war & conflict issues (Children's&YA)

Paperback

A tiny dog, the runt of the litter, is born on a remote cattle station. She shouldn't have survived, but when Elsie finds,... [more]

$16.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
How to Make a Wish

978/132/886/9781328869326.jpg

How to Make a Wish

Ashley Herring Blake

Children's & Educational; Children's & young adult fiction & true stories; General fiction (Children's&YA); Romance & relationships stories (Children's&YA); Family & home stories (Children's&YA); Personal & social issues: sexuality & relationships (Children's&YA)

Paperback

A small town pianist ponders a new life away from her embarrassing mother when a beautiful girl shows up and changes everything.... [more]

$14.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Be the One: Six True Stories of Teens Overcoming Hardship with Hope

978/144/248/9781442483835.jpg

Be the One: Six True Stories of Teens Overcoming Hardship with Hope

Byron Pitts

Children's & Educational; Personal & social issues: bullying, violence & abuse (Children's&YA); Personal & social issues: disability & special needs (Children's&YA); Personal & social issues: self-awareness & self-esteem (Children's&YA)

Paperback

Synopsis coming soon....... [more]

$16.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Mixed

978/150/987/9781509871346.jpg

Mixed

Arree Chung

Children's & Educational; Picture storybooks; Early learning: colours; Family & home stories (Children's&YA); Personal & social issues: racism & multiculturalism (Children's&YA)

Paperback

Who's the best, the Blues, Reds or Yellows? Follow the colours as they overcome their differences in this simple, sweet tale... [more]

$16.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Quicksand Pond

978/148/147/9781481472234.jpg

Quicksand Pond

Janet Taylor Lisle

Children's & Educational; Children's & young adult fiction & true stories; Personal & social issues

Paperback

Synopsis coming soon....... [more]

$12.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Floored

978/150/986/9781509862306.jpg

Floored

Sara Barnard, Holly Bourne, Tanya Byrne, Non Pratt, Melinda Salisbury

Children's & Educational; Anthologies (Children's&YA); General fiction (Children's&YA); School stories (Children's&YA); Personal & social issues: disability & special needs (Children's&YA)

Paperback

Every day told seven ways: a unique collaborative novel by seven of the most exciting talents in YA. [more]

$16.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Dog

978/178/269/9781782691730.jpg

Dog

Andy Mulligan

Children's & Educational; General fiction (Children's&YA); Adventure stories (Children's&YA); Animal stories (Children's&YA); Personal & social issues: divorce, separation, family break-up (Children's&YA)

Paperback

When Tom meets Spider he is sure he has found a friend for life. But their companionship does not run smoothly. Spider can't... [more]

$14.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Child I

978/057/133/9780571337835.jpg

Child I

Steve Tasane

Children's & Educational; Adventure stories (Children's&YA); Personal & social issues: divorce, separation, family break-up (Children's&YA); Social issues: war & conflict issues (Children's&YA)

Paperback

A group of undocumented children with letters for names, are stuck living in a refugee camp, with stories to tell but no papers... [more]

$14.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Putting the Planet First: Reduce, Reuse, Recycle

978/152/630/9781526301178.jpg

Putting the Planet First: Reduce, Reuse, Recycle

Rebecca Rissman

Children's & Educational; People & places (Children's&YA); Social issues: environment & green issues (Children's&YA)

Paperback

Discover how people all around the world are putting the planet first and helping the environment in new and exciting ways!... [more]

$19.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Wild Blue Wonder

978/150/983/9781509836055.jpg

Wild Blue Wonder

Carlie Sorosiak

Children's & Educational; Romance & relationships stories (Children's&YA); Family & home stories (Children's&YA); Personal & social issues: siblings (Children's&YA); Personal & social issues: sexuality & relationships (Children's&YA)

Paperback

From the author of If Birds Fly Back comes Wild Blue Wonder, an achingly beautiful novel of first love and falling apart.... [more]

$16.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
My Shopping Basket
Your cart does not contain any items.