Abbey's Bookshop Logo
Go to my checkout basket
Login to Abbey's Bookshop
Register with Abbey's Bookshop
Gift Vouchers
Browse by Category

Narrow Your Search

By Availability


By Format


By Price


By Publication Date


Historical fiction

755 results

Winter of the Witch (#3 Winternight Trilogy)

978/178/503/9781785039720.jpg

Winter of the Witch (#3 Winternight Trilogy)

Katherine Arden

Fiction & Literature; Fantasy; Historical fiction; Folklore, myths & legends

Paperback

A magical and captivating coming of age novel set in medieval Russia - perfect for fans of Erin Morgenstern's The Night Circus... [more]

$32.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Jane Seymour, The Haunted Queen (#3 Six Tudor Queens)

978/147/222/9781472227713.jpg

Jane Seymour, The Haunted Queen (#3 Six Tudor Queens)

Alison Weir

Fiction & Literature; Historical fiction

Paperback

The third stunning novel in the Six Tudor Queens series by foremost and beloved historian Alison Weir [more]

$22.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Deadly Cure

978/164/313/9781643130439.jpg

Deadly Cure

Lawrence Goldstone

Fiction & Literature; Thriller & suspense; Historical adventure; Historical fiction

Paperback

A remarkable new historical thriller by New York Times notable mystery author Lawrence Goldstone that evokes the New York... [more]

$24.95

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Wicked Cometh

978/147/366/9781473661394.jpg

The Wicked Cometh

Laura Carlin

Fiction & Literature; Historical fiction

Paperback

Even in the darkest of times, you cannot bury the truth . . . A debut historical novel that will appeal to fans of Sarah Waters... [more]

$22.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Blackberry and Wild Rose

978/178/747/9781787470767.jpg

Blackberry and Wild Rose

Sonia Velton

Fiction & Literature; Historical fiction

Paperback

For fans of Jessie Burton and Tracy Chevalier, a rich historical debut set among the Huguenot silk weavers of Spitalfields... [more]

$32.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Story Keeper

978/147/223/9781472234803.jpg

The Story Keeper

Anna Mazzola

Fiction & Literature; Crime & mystery; Myth & legend told as fiction; Historical fiction

Paperback

The spellbinding second novel from the author of the acclaimed THE UNSEEING - for any reader of THE WITCH FINDER'S SISTER... [more]

$22.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Tag: A Man, A Woman, and the War to End All Wars

978/192/571/9781925713947.jpg

Tag: A Man, A Woman, and the War to End All Wars

Barry Heard

Fiction & Literature; Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); First World War fiction; Historical fiction

Paperback

Tag Wardpod has an extraordinary gift with animals. When war begins, Tag leaves his job as a blacksmith and horse handler... [more]

$24.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Rome's Sacred Flame

978/178/239/9781782397069.jpg

Rome's Sacred Flame

Robert Fabbri (Author)

Fiction & Literature; Historical adventure; Historical fiction

Paperback

The penultimate novel in the incredible Vespasian series from the bestselling author, Robert Fabbri. [more]

$19.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Secrets at Ocean's Edge

978/073/364/9780733641497.jpg

The Secrets at Ocean's Edge

Kali Napier

Fiction & Literature; Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Sagas; Historical fiction

Paperback

Every family has secrets that bind them together. A heart-rending story of a guesthouse keeper and his wife who attempt to... [more]

$16.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Antes de Septiembre

978/846/666/9788466663915.jpg

Antes de Septiembre

Mario Escobar

Historical fiction; Languages & ESL

Paperback

La conmovedora historia de una familia separada por el Muro de Berl n y... [more]

$37.95

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
King of Kings

978/178/576/9781785768460.jpg

King of Kings

Wilbur Smith, Imogen Robertson

Fiction & Literature; Adventure; Romance; Sagas; Historical fiction

Hardback

With storm clouds gathering, and on opposing sides of the invasion, can Penrod and Amber find their way back to one another... [more]

$39.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
A Suspicion of Silver (#9 Sir Robert Carey)

978/146/421/9781464210457.jpg

A Suspicion of Silver (#9 Sir Robert Carey)

P. F. Chisholm

Fiction & Literature; Crime & mystery; Historical mysteries; Historical fiction

Paperback

A brand-new Sir Robert Carey Mystery, full of roguish courtiers, rival gangs, border raiders, treason, realpolitik and unbridled... [more]

$29.95

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Not the Duke's Darling (#1 Greycourt)

978/153/876/9781538763520.jpg

Not the Duke's Darling (#1 Greycourt)

Elizabeth Hoyt

Historical romance; Sagas; Historical fiction

Paperback

Freya de Moray is many things: a member of the secret order of Wise Women, the daughter of disgraced nobility, and a chaperone... [more]

$14.95

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Killer of Kings (#4 Bernicia Chronicles)

978/178/669/9781786696250.jpg

Killer of Kings (#4 Bernicia Chronicles)

Matthew Harffy

Fiction & Literature; Historical adventure; Historical fiction

Paperback

AD 636. Anglo-Saxon Britain. Whilst escorting a group of holy men, Beobrand... [more]

$29.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Woman in the Green Dress

978/148/927/9781489270719.jpg

The Woman in the Green Dress

Tea Cooper

Fiction & Literature; Historical fiction

Paperback

For readers who loved Remarkable Creatures, The Naturalist's Daughter and The Birdman's Wife comes The Woman in the Green... [more]

$29.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Night of Camp David

978/152/911/9781529111576.jpg

Night of Camp David

Fletcher Knebel

Fiction & Literature; Political & legal thriller; Historical fiction

Paperback

Back by popular demand, the 1965 bestselling political thriller - `What would happen if the president of the U.S.A. [more]

$19.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Winter Mantle

978/075/157/9780751575675.jpg

The Winter Mantle

Elizabeth Chadwick

Fiction & Literature; Historical fiction

Paperback

Reissue of Elizabeth Chadwick's classic tale of love and battle in medieval England [more]

$22.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Arsenal Stadium Mystery

978/146/421/9781464210839.jpg

The Arsenal Stadium Mystery

Leonard Gribble

Fiction & Literature; Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Classic fiction (pre c 1945); Crime & mystery; Historical mysteries; Historical fiction

Paperback

Gribble's unique mystery, featuring the actual Arsenal squad of 1939, sends Inspector Anthony Slade into the world of professional... [more]

$23.95

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Death of an Eye

978/178/854/9781788549202.jpg

Death of an Eye

Dana Stabenow

Fiction & Literature; Thriller & suspense; Historical fiction

Paperback

A historical series debut - set in Ancient Egypt - from the author of the Edgar-award winning Kate Shugak novels. [more]

$32.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Long Road From Paris: A Novel

978/188/888/9781888889949.jpg

The Long Road From Paris: A Novel

Kirby Williams

Fiction & Literature; Crime & mystery; Historical fiction; Religious & spiritual fiction; Christian life & practice

Paperback

The further adventures of ex-pat Urby Brown, black jazz musician and private eye, set in the maelstrom of 1930s Europe, from... [more]

$26.95

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Sweet Hills of Florence

978/192/527/9781925272840.jpg

The Sweet Hills of Florence

Jan Wallace Dickinson

Fiction & Literature; Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Historical fiction

Paperback

All Souls' Day - the Day of the Dead, 1941. Florence, city of strife. It is Hitler's state visit to Florence and the last... [more]

$32.95

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Girl They Left Behind

978/192/579/9781925791426.jpg

The Girl They Left Behind

Roxanne Veletzos

Fiction & Literature; Historical fiction

Paperback

Inspired by the author's true family story of survival during the Second World War, Natalia's story is an unforgettable portrait... [more]

$29.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Young Lion

978/192/538/9781925384758.jpg

The Young Lion

Blanche D'alpuget

Fiction & Literature; Historical fiction

Paperback

The first book in the Birth of the Plantagenets series is sumptuous, rich historical fiction for fans of Wolf Hall and Game... [more]

$32.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Lion Rampant

978/192/538/9781925384772.jpg

The Lion Rampant

Blanche D'alpuget

Fiction & Literature; Historical fiction

Paperback

The second book in the captivating Birth of the Plantagenets series brings the twelfth-century reign of Henry II and his wife,... [more]

$32.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Miss Burma

978/161/185/9781611855074.jpg

Miss Burma

Charmaine Craig

Fiction & Literature; Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Historical fiction

Paperback

A powerful and epic novel that follows one prominent Burmese family struggling to overcome war and political repression while... [more]

$19.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
My Shopping Basket
Your cart does not contain any items.