Abbey's Bookshop Logo
Go to my checkout basket
Login to Abbey's Bookshop
Register with Abbey's Bookshop
Gift Vouchers
Browse by Category

Sub-Categories of Fiction: special features


Narrow Your Search

By Availability


By Format


By Price


By Publication Date


Fiction: special features

12,013 results

Rashomon and Other Stories

978/480/531/9784805314630.jpg

Rashomon and Other Stories

Ryunosuke Akutagawa, Seiji Lippit

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Short stories

Paperback

Clear-eyed glimpses of human behavior in the extremities of poverty, stupidity, greed, vanity Story-telling of an unconventional... [more]

$14.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Waiting For Monsieur Bellivier

978/147/460/9781474605472.jpg

Waiting For Monsieur Bellivier

Britta Rostlund

Fiction & Literature; Crime & mystery; Fiction in translation

Paperback

A chance encounter can change everything . . . For fans of The Elegance of the Hedgehog and The Little Paris Bookshop, a... [more]

$19.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Seventh Cross

978/034/901/9780349010670.jpg

The Seventh Cross

Anna Seghers

Fiction & Literature; Classic fiction (pre c 1945); Fiction in translation

Paperback

A rediscovered German classic novel from 1942, The Seventh Cross is both a gripping escape story and a powerful novel of resistance.... [more]

$29.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Maigret and the Reluctant Witnesses (#53 Inspector Maigret)

978/024/130/9780241303856.jpg

Maigret and the Reluctant Witnesses (#53 Inspector Maigret)

Georges Simenon

Fiction & Literature; Classic crime; Fiction in translation

Paperback

Investigating a murder, Chief Inspector Maigret has difficulty penetrating the wall of silence maintained by the family involved.... [more]

$16.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Rave: Vintage Minis

978/178/487/9781784874049.jpg

Rave: Vintage Minis

Irvine Welsh

Fiction & Literature; Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Adult & contemporary romance; Short stories

Paperback

Irvine Welsh, 'poet laureate of the chemical generation', exposes the seamy... [more]

$7.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Last Stories

978/024/133/9780241337776.jpg

Last Stories

William Trevor

Fiction & Literature; Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Short stories

Paperback

With a career that spanned more than half a century, William Trevor is regarded as one of the best writers of short stories... [more]

$29.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Flight or Fright: 17 Turbulent Tales

978/158/767/9781587676796.jpg

Flight or Fright: 17 Turbulent Tales

Stephen King, Bev Vincent

Anthologies (non-poetry); Horror & ghost stories; Short stories

Hardback

Fasten your seatbelts for an anthology of turbulent tales curated by Stephen King and Bev Vincent. This exciting new anthology,... [more]

$51.95

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Nutcracker

978/143/515/9781435154520.jpg

The Nutcracker

Alexandre Dumas

Classic fiction (pre c 1945); Fiction in translation

Hardback

Revel in the magic of a Christmas tradition. This flexibound edition features the full text of Dumas' 'The History of a Nutcracker',... [more]

$22.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
F. Scott Fitzgerald: Classic Works

978/143/516/9781435167414.jpg

F. Scott Fitzgerald: Classic Works

F. Scott Fitzgerald

Classic fiction (pre c 1945); Short stories

Hardback

This volume contains two of Fitzgerald's novels - This Side of Paradise and The Beautiful and Damned - as well as 19 short... [more]

$49.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Bird Cottage

978/178/227/9781782273936.jpg

Bird Cottage

Eva Meijer

Fiction & Literature; Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Historical fiction; Fiction in translation

Hardback

A novel based on the true story of a remarkable woman, her lifelong relationship with birds and the joy she drew from it<br... [more]

$27.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Pit and the Pendulum and Other Tales

978/019/882/9780198827290.jpg

The Pit and the Pendulum and Other Tales

Edgar Allan Poe

Literary studies: fiction, novelists & prose writers; Classic fiction (pre c 1945); Classic horror & ghost stories; Short stories

Hardback

Edgar Allan Poe's extraordinary Gothic tales are classics of horror fiction, and created many of the conventions which still... [more]

$30.95

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Compulsory Games

978/168/137/9781681371894.jpg

Compulsory Games

Robert Aickman, Victoria Nelson

Short stories

Paperback

Cross Henry James with M.R. James and you might end up with a writer like Robert Aickman, though his self-described strange... [more]

$33.95

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
Eight Stories: Tales of War and Loss

978/147/988/9781479888092.jpg

Eight Stories: Tales of War and Loss

Erich Maria Remarque, Larry Wolff

Fiction & Literature; Classic fiction (pre c 1945); Short stories

Paperback

Seven of the eight short stories in this collection were originally published in Collier's magazine. The eighth story, Dreamt... [more]

$25.95

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Ice Palace

978/024/132/9780241321218.jpg

The Ice Palace

Tarjei Vesaas

Fiction & Literature; Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Fiction in translation

Paperback

A gift edition of one of the finest novels out of Scandinavia. Tarjei Vesaas's The Ice Palace tells the story of a young... [more]

$19.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Susan Effect

978/178/470/9781784702267.jpg

The Susan Effect

Peter Hoeg

Fiction & Literature; Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Fiction in translation

Paperback

You'll tell her your darkest secretsSusan Svendsen has an unusual talent. People feel compelled to confide in her and unwittingly... [more]

$19.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
From a Certain Point of View: 40 Stories Celebrating 40 Years of Star Wars

978/009/954/9780099542698.jpg

From a Certain Point of View: 40 Stories Celebrating 40 Years of Star Wars...

Various Authors

Science fiction; Space opera; Short stories; Gift books

Paperback

Dawson - Kelly Sue DeConnick - Paul Dini - Ian Doescher - Ashley Eckstein - Matt Fraction - Alexander Freed - Jason Fry -... [more]

$19.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Men Without Women: Stories

978/178/470/9781784705374.jpg

Men Without Women: Stories

Haruki Murakami

Fiction & Literature; Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Short stories; Fiction in translation

Paperback

THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLERAcross seven tales, Haruki Murakami brings his powers of observation to bear on the lives of men... [more]

$19.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Babylon

978/160/980/9781609808327.jpg

Babylon

Yasmina Reza

Fiction & Literature; Fiction in translation

Hardback

Winner of the Prix Renaudot shortlisted for the Prix Goncourt --Jacket. [more]

$34.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
His Excellency Eugene Rougon

978/019/874/9780198748250.jpg

His Excellency Eugene Rougon

Emile Zola

Classic fiction (pre c 1945); Fiction in translation

Paperback

His Excellency Eugene Rougon is the sixth in Zola's famous Rougon-Macquart series of novels. Here, the novel presents a detailed... [more]

$20.95

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Collected Stories of Grace Paley

978/034/901/9780349010618.jpg

The Collected Stories of Grace Paley

Grace Paley

Fiction & Literature; Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Short stories

Paperback

Regarded as one of the finest American short story writers and admired by George Saunders, Susan Sontag and Salman Rushdie,... [more]

$19.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Back Up

978/178/607/9781786071101.jpg

Back Up

Paul Colize

Fiction & Literature; Crime & mystery; Fiction in translation

Paperback

The bestselling Belgian crime novel about an English rock `n' roll band [more]

$24.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
A Good Day for Seppuku: Stories

978/087/286/9780872867215.jpg

A Good Day for Seppuku: Stories

Kate Braverman

Fiction & Literature; Short stories

Paperback

Braverman challenges mythological nuclear family roles in her memorable collection of new stories. [more]

$24.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Book of Swords Part 2

978/000/827/9780008274702.jpg

The Book of Swords Part 2

Gardner Dozois

Fantasy; Short stories

Paperback

An epic collection of fantasy tales in the grand tradition, including a never-before-published A Song of Ice and Fire story... [more]

$19.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Book of Swords Part 1

978/000/827/9780008274696.jpg

The Book of Swords Part 1

Gardner Dozois

Fantasy; Short stories

Paperback

An epic collection of fantasy tales in the grand tradition, including a never-before-published A Song of Ice and Fire story... [more]

$19.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Negocios

978/052/556/9780525564522.jpg

Negocios

Junot Diaz

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Short stories; Languages & ESL

Paperback

El lector tiene en sus manos una colecci n de relatos que viene precedida de una enorme expectaci n. Su autor, seleccionado... [more]

$29.95

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
My Shopping Basket
Your cart does not contain any items.