Abbey's Bookshop Logo
Go to my checkout basket
Login to Abbey's Bookshop
Register with Abbey's Bookshop
Gift Vouchers
Browse by Category

facebook
Google Book Preview
The Water Cure: LONGLISTED FOR THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE 2018
— —
Sophie Mackintosh
The Water Cure: LONGLISTED FOR THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE 2018 by Sophie Mackintosh at Abbey's Bookshop,

The Water Cure: LONGLISTED FOR THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE 2018

Sophie Mackintosh


9780241337349

Hamish Hamilton


Fiction & Literature;
Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945);
Science fiction


Paperback

240 pages

$29.99
We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
order qty:  
Add this item to my basket

Dreamlike and compulsive, a blazing literary debut about love, violence and survival at any cost.

Once upon a time, damaged women came here to be cured. We took them in, fed them glasses of our clean, good water, let them scream at the waves till their lips split like ripe fruit. Now no one is left but my sisters and me. King died a year ago, quite suddenly. Mother has vanished, no one knows where. And the safe compound they built around us, far away from the toxic world, has finally been breached.

Three men arrived last week, washed up by the sea, their gazes hungry and insistent. We remember now what our father taught us. 'If the men come to you, show yourself some mercy. Don't stick around and wait for them to put you out of your misery.'

By:   Sophie Mackintosh
Imprint:   Hamish Hamilton
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 200mm,  Width: 150mm,  Spine: 16mm
Weight:   95g
ISBN:   9780241337349
ISBN 10:   0241337348
Series:   Feminist Perspectives
Pages:   240
Publication Date:   May 2018
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Sophie Mackintosh won the 2016 White Review Short Story Prize and the 2016 Virago/Stylist Short Story competition, and has been published in Granta magazine and TANK magazine among others. The Water Cure is her first novel.


Bold, inventive, haunting... With shades of Margaret Atwood and Eimear McBride, you'll be bowled over by it * Stylist (61 Books to Read This Spring) * Tempest-like... [An] eerie, uncanny literary debut... Beautifully written, pared down [and] hypnotic * Sunday Times Culture * In raw, visceral prose, Mackintosh probes at ideas of the threat of male violence, the ways women are told to protect ourselves, love and sisterhood and survival. A hypnotic, stormy book, with one of my favourite endings I've read in a long while * The Pool * Stunning... A haunting story of abuse, death, and desire... Chilling and topical, a breathtaking debut * Dazed * Compulsive, eerily gorgeous prose, [it] will have you gripped until the end... A film adaptation feels inevitable... As far as debuts go, this is superb * Irish Times * The Water Cure is eerily still and pure - with saline bite... Mackintosh asks if it is the traumas of our pasts that ultimately pose the greatest threat to our futures * New Statesman * Eerily beautiful, this strange, unsettling novel creeps up and grabs hold of you -- Paula Hawkins, author of 'The Girl on the Train' [A] wildly confident debut... Take the strange social ceremonies of Yorgos Lanthimos' The Lobster and the pheromone-rich claustrophobia of Sophia Coppola's The Beguiled and you come close to the world Sophie Mackintosh conjures * AnOther Magazine * Searing, richly drawn, eerily compelling... As foreboding in what it holds back as in what it reveals * Stylist * Powerfully unsettling, immensely assured, calmly devastating. It conjures a world both alien and familiar, exploring the physical and psychological cruelties enacted on women, by men, in the name of their protection, and the noble and ignoble uses to which anger can be put in a perverse world. This is a gem of a novel, and I was bowled over by it -- Katherine Angel, author of 'Unmastered' Electric [and] beautifully strange... Her novel is an exercise in minimalism * Times Literary Supplement * Bewitching... [An] ambiguous utopia * Guardian * A hypnotic read... This extraordinary debut is a feminist, quasi-dystopian read - great for fans of Hot Milk, The Girls and The Vegetarian * Elle * A work of cool, claustrophobic beauty. Sophie Mackintosh writes devastatingly well about the complexities that women face in loving men, and in loving each other -- Eli Goldstone, author of 'Strange Heart Beating' Uneasy, mythic, lawless... The atmospheric landscapes cloak trauma and violence in wisps of uncertainty, where bad feelings coalesce as both presciently felt and strangely unknowable * Frieze * Otherworldly, brutal and poetic: a feminist fable set by the sea, a utopia gone awry, a female Lord of the Flies. It transported me, savaged me, filled me with hope and fear. It felt like a book I'd been waiting to read for a long time -- Emma Jane Unsworth, author of 'Animals' [A] lyrical debut, original and very atmospheric * Good Housekeeping * Eerie, electric, beautiful. It rushes you through to the end on a tide of tension and closely held panic. I loved this book -- Daisy Johnson, author of 'Fen' Creepy and delightful, a portrayal of post-apocalyptic puberty, intermingling desire and despair. It has a pinch of Shirley Jackson, a dash of chlorine, and an essence all of its own -- Rowan Hisayo Buchanan, author of 'Harmless Like You' Powerful, mythic, seductively sinister... Her alternative world is as carefully imagined as one of Margaret Atwood's... [Sophie Mackintosh] is a writer to be reckoned with * Book Oxygen * Eerie and unsettling, the novel exerts a hypnotic grip as the tension builds * Daily Mail * A superb debut * i *

My Shopping Basket
Your cart does not contain any items.