Abbey's Bookshop Logo
Go to my checkout basket
Login to Abbey's Bookshop
Register with Abbey's Bookshop
Gift Vouchers
Browse by Category

facebook
Google Book Preview
The Mother-In-Law
— —
Sally Hepworth
The Mother-In-Law by Sally Hepworth at Abbey's Bookshop,

The Mother-In-Law

Sally Hepworth


9781760552183

Macmillan


Fiction & Literature;
Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945);
Crime & mystery


Paperback

352 pages

$29.99
In stock
Ready to ship
order qty:  
Add this item to my basket

Hepworth turns up the tension in her latest Australian-set domestic suspense novel. A masterful depiction of how much is said in the silences, accompanied by increasing unease over what happened to Diana, makes this a winner for fans of Liane Moriarty and Megan Abbott Booklist (starred review) Someone once told me that you have two families in your life - the one you are born into and the one you choose. Yes, you may get to choose your partner, but you don't choose your mother-in-law. The cackling mercenaries of fate determine it all.

From the moment Lucy met Diana, she was kept at arm's length. Diana was exquisitely polite, but Lucy knew, even after marrying Oliver, that they'd never have the closeness she'd been hoping for.

But who could fault Diana? She was a pillar of the community, an advocate for social justice, the matriarch of a loving family. Lucy had wanted so much to please her new mother-in-law.

That was ten years ago. Now, Diana has been found dead, leaving a suicide note. But the autopsy reveals evidence of suffocation. And everyone in the family is hiding something...

From the bestselling author of The Family Next Door comes a new page-turner about that trickiest of relationships.

PRAISE FOR SALLY HEPWORTH 'Sally Hepworth writes compelling, compassionate novels with characters you come to know and love. She is one of my favourite Australian writers.' Liane Moriarty 'Hepworth's novels are perfect for lovers of Big Little Lies.' Library journal (starred review)

By:   Sally Hepworth
Imprint:   Macmillan
Country of Publication:   Australia
Dimensions:   Height: 232mm,  Width: 159mm,  Spine: 26mm
Weight:   436g
ISBN:   9781760552183
ISBN 10:   1760552186
Pages:   352
Publication Date:   February 2019
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Sally Hepworth has lived around the world, spending extended periods in Singapore, the UK and Canada, where she worked in event management and human resources. She is the author of The Secrets of Midwives, The Things We Keep, The Mother's Promise and The Family Next Door. Sally lives in Melbourne, Australia, with her husband and children.

My Shopping Basket
Your cart does not contain any items.