LATEST DISCOUNTS & SALES: PROMOTIONS

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

Tag Team

El Toro & Friends

Raúl the Third

$19.99

Hardback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

Spanish
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publishing Company
28 June 2021
Luchadores El Toro and La Oink Oink are the perfect tag team as they clean up together in this playful and visually stunning early reader! Perfect for fans of Elephant and Piggie, comic book fans, and kids looking to practice both Spanish and English.

After last night's match, the stadium is a mess! There is so much work to be done and Mexican wrestling star El Toro feels overwhelmed. Enter... La Oink Oink!

With the collaborative spirit they have in the ring, El Toro and La Oink Oink tackle the cleaning up together. La Oink Oink sweeps and El Toro picks up the trash.

La Oink Oink washes the dishes, and El Toro dries them.

Together, an insurmountable mountain of chores becomes a series of fun tasks for these two wrestling friends!

With unique and detailed illustrations, and easy Spanish and English vocabulary words, sports fans and comic book fans alike will fall in love with El Toro, La Oink Oink, and their tag-team adventures in this fun early reader.

AGES: 4 to 7

AUTHOR: Raul the Third is the Pura Belpre Honor-winning illustrator of Vamos! Let's Go to the Market. He is currently working on the expanded world of his Vamos! series, and illustrating the fourth volume of the Lowriders series, written by Cathy Camper. He grew up in El Paso, Texas and Ciudad Juarez, Mexico, and now lives in Boston, Massachusetts with colourist and collaborator Elaine Bay and their son, Raul the Fourth.

By:  
Imprint:   Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publishing Company
Country of Publication:   United States
Dimensions:   Height: 229mm,  Width: 165mm, 
ISBN:   9780358380399
ISBN 10:   0358380391
Pages:   56
Publication Date:  
Recommended Age:   From 6 to 10 years
Audience:   Children/juvenile ,  English as a second language
Format:   Hardback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Raul the Third is the Pura Belpre Honor-winning illustrator of Vamos! Let's Go to the Market. He is currently working on the expanded world of his Vamos! series. He grew up in El Paso, Texas, and Ciudad Juarez, Mexico, and now lives in Boston, Massachusetts, with colorist and collaborator Elaine Bay and their son, Raul the Fourth.

Reviews for Tag Team (El Toro & Friends)

In typical !Vamos! style, a vibrant world bursts to life on every page, filled with movement and a detailed host of cartoon characters, though text and images are simplified to accommodate beginning readers. Raul offers a lesson in visual literacy, utilizing speech bubbles and panels in addition to traditional narration. -- Booklist (starred review) A generous touch of giddy surrealism continues to make Raul the Third's faunal milieu a destination, lovingly detailed in frenetic compositions and Bay's SweeTart-hued digital colorization. Exercise and toilet cleaning are rarely this much fun. -- Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books (starred review) Simple sentences and recognizable--yet entirely fresh and original--plot structures set up young readers for accomplishment. Visual and linguistic whirls and twirls match the fast-paced tempo of lucha libre, serving up dazzling Chicano English....This pizzazz echoes throughout the chillante palette of matte violet, teal, and orange hues, animating the dynamic motion lines in comic-book-style drawings, rewarding attentive eyes and ears with endless detail and inside jokes. -- Horn Book (starred review) Wildly imaginative and creative! Your kids will go loco for El Toro! -- Jeff Kinney, author of the Diary of a Wimpy Kid series As in the World of !Vamos! books, the creator, alongside colorist Elaine Bay, utilizes comics-style layouts and an eye-catching, lightly faded color palette.... lively banter and humorous illustrations make for an absorbing early reader. -- Publishers Weekly The unstoppable Raul the Third brings his border barrio to rip-roaring life with plenty of humor, embedded Spanish, and Chicano cultural references.... Comic-book and lucha libre fans alike will not tap out of this semibilingual smackdown. -- Kirkus Reviews


See Also