Abbey's Bookshop Logo
Go to my checkout basket
Login to Abbey's Bookshop
Register with Abbey's Bookshop
Gift Vouchers
Browse by Category

facebook
Google Book Preview
Still Lives
— —
Maria Hummel
Still Lives by Maria Hummel at Abbey's Bookshop,

Still Lives

Maria Hummel


9781787479586

Headline


Fiction & Literature;
Crime & mystery;
Thriller & suspense;
Crime Chronicle - Modern Crime


Paperback

384 pages

$22.99
In stock
Ready to ship
order qty:  
Add this item to my basket

A REESE WITHERSPOON BOOK CLUB PICK
A SUNDAY TIMES CRIME CLUB PICK
WINNER OF STYLIST BOOK WARS THE POOL'S DECEMBER BEDTIME BOOK CLUB PICK
SHORTLISTED FOR AMAZON'S BEST MYSTERY/THRILLER OF THE YEAR

'Thrilling' Reese Witherspoon 'Addictive' Stylist 'Vibrant' Observer 'Sensational' Guardian 'Elegant' Daily Mail 'Wonderful' Sunday Times 'Compelling' Entertainment Weekly 'Lyrical' Wall Street Journal 'Gripping' Bustle 'Stunning' LA Times 'Smart' Good Housekeeping 'Sophisticated' Grazia

As the party of the year gets underway, celebrities and patrons pour into the Rocque Museum to see Kim Lord - L.A.'s artist of the moment - stabbed, strangled, shot, and beaten. It's the opening night of STILL LIVES, Kim's new collection of shockingly graphic self-portraits, in which she impersonates the victims of America's most famous homicides, from Nicole Brown Simpson to the Black Dahlia.

The crowd eagerly await Kim's arrival, but she fails to appear at the gala. Among those gathered is Maggie Richter, a museum editor whose ex, Greg Shaw Ferguson, is in a relationship with Kim. When Kim is declared officially missing, and Greg is arrested on suspicion of murder, Maggie is drawn into an investigation of her own, haunted by the thought that Kim has suffered the same terrible fate as the women in her paintings.

'Think a mix of KILLING EVE and . . . one of those thrillers that keeps you up till 2am when you've a 6am alarm and you're close to the mark' Stylist Perfect for fans of Perfect for fans of GONE GIRL, SHARP OBJECTS and BIG LITTLE LIES.

By:   Maria Hummel
Imprint:   Headline
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 198mm,  Width: 129mm,  Spine: 25mm
Weight:   272g
ISBN:   9781787479586
ISBN 10:   1787479587
Pages:   384
Publication Date:   June 2019
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

MARIA HUMMEL is the author of Motherland, a San Francisco Chronicle Book of the Year. She worked as a writer/editor at MOCA in Los Angeles, then received a Stegner Fellowship at Stanford University and taught there for many years. She is currently an assistant professor at the University of Vermont, and lives in Vermont with her husband and sons.


A thrilling mystery... still keeps us up at night, it's THAT good - Reese Witherspoon [A] smart, opinionated thriller - The Pool Savvy and lyrical - the perfect beach read - Wall Street Journal A deeply affecting examination of how our culture fetishizes female victims of crime -it will also have readers feverishly turning pages... a stunning achievement - LA Times The fast-paced feminist thriller about the L.A. art world you don't want to miss... An electrifying mystery - Bustle Gripping... the smartest, most original page-turner I've read in a long time - Maggie Shipstead, author of Seating Arrangements A taut thriller with a delectable final 100 pages. It reaches an addictive pitch that all books of this ilk aspire to... and she writes a hell of an ending - Los Angeles Review of Books A mysterious page turner - Time Magazine

My Shopping Basket
Your cart does not contain any items.