Abbey's Bookshop Logo
Go to my checkout basket
Login to Abbey's Bookshop
Register with Abbey's Bookshop
Gift Vouchers
Browse by Category

facebook
Google Book Preview
Monday's Not Coming
— —
Tiffany D. Jackson
Monday's Not Coming by Tiffany D. Jackson at Abbey's Bookshop,

Monday's Not Coming

Tiffany D. Jackson


9780062422682

Katherine Tegen Books


Children's & Educational;
Thrillers (Children's&YA)


Paperback

464 pages

$19.99
We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
order qty:  
Add this item to my basket

From the critically acclaimed author of Allegedly, Tiffany D. Jackson, comes a gripping new novel perfect for fans of E. Lockhart and Gillian Flynn about the mystery of one teenage girl's disappearance and the traumatic effects of the truth.

Monday Charles is missing, and only Claudia seems to notice. Claudia and Monday have always been inseparable - more sisters than friends. So when Monday doesn't turn up for the first day of school, Claudia's worried.

When she doesn't show for the second day, or second week, Claudia knows that something is wrong. Monday wouldn't just leave her to endure tests and bullies alone. Not after last year's rumors and not with her grades on the line. Now Claudia needs her best - and only - friend more than ever. But Monday's mother refuses to give Claudia a straight answer, and Monday's sister April is even less help.

As Claudia digs deeper into her friend's disappearance, she discovers that no one seems to remember the last time they saw Monday. How can a teenage girl just vanish without anyone noticing that she's gone

By:   Tiffany D. Jackson
Imprint:   Katherine Tegen Books
Country of Publication:   United States
Dimensions:   Height: 203mm,  Width: 135mm,  Spine: 27mm
Weight:   331g
ISBN:   9780062422682
ISBN 10:   0062422685
Pages:   464
Publication Date:   May 2019
Recommended Age:   From 13 years
Audience:   Young adult ,  Preschool (0-5)
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Tiffany D. Jackson is the author of Allegedly, Monday's Not Coming, and Let Me Hear a Rhyme. A TV professional by day, novelist by night, she received her bachelor of arts in film from Howard University and her master of arts in media studies from the New School. A Brooklyn native, she is a lover of naps, cookie dough, and beaches, currently residing in the borough she loves, most likely multitasking. You can visit her online at www.writeinbk.com.


Jackson doesn't hold anything back when it comes to the pain of abuse and the ramifications of turning a blind eye. It's a frank, devastating read filled with real and flawed characters, and it's a story that needs to be read. --Booklist In addition to a gripping plot line, underlying social issues bubble beneath the surface, such as neighborhood gentrification, race, poverty, community, the healing of connection, and the destruction in disconnection. --The Horn Book The gravest, most fundamental challenge in Tiffany D. Jackson's devastating novel is leveled at a society that purports to value children while allowing untold numbers of them, particularly poor children and children of color, to fall through the cracks. --Chicago Tribune Seen through Jackson's dark portrait of the legal system and the failures of parents and social workers, Mary's environments are as grim as the stories that play out in them; readers fascinated by procedural dramas will be thoroughly hooked. --Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books A riveting, gut-wrenching thriller and a stunning debut. --Daniel Jos Older, New York Times bestselling author of Shadowshaper A well-executed, powerful journey into the claustrophobic life of a young girl trying to navigate what little is left after the world has judged her, and what she will do to escape it. --Mindy McGinnis, Edgar Award-winning author of A Madness So Discreet The characters are complex, the situation unsettling, and the line between right and wrong hopelessly blurred. It's also intensely relevant, addressing race, age, and mental illness within the criminal justice system. Well conceived and executed, this is an absorbing and exceptional first novel. --Publishers Weekly (starred review) Her novel effectively joins Ava DuVernay's documentary 13th and Michelle Alexander's The New Jim Crow (2010) to become another indictment of the penal system's decimating power beyond its bars and, more subtly and refreshingly, a pro-reproductive-justice novel. Searing and true. --Kirkus Reviews (starred review) PRAISE FOR ALLEGEDLY: With remarkable skill, Jackson offers an unflinching portrayal of the raw social outcomes when youth are entrapped in a vicious cycle of nonparenting and are sent spiraling down the prison-for-profit pipeline. Dark, suspenseful. --School Library Journal (starred review) Jackson effortlessly weaves elements of suspense with issues of race, class, and gender, casting a harsh light on a world that often refuses to notice the disappearances of black and brown girls. The twist at the end is both gaspworthy and heartbreaking. --Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books (starred review) A mesmerizing, punch-in-the-gut story about the power of friendship and the horrors hiding right in front of us. --Laurie Halse Anderson, author of Speak and Chains Tiffany Jackson's timely and chilling debut will haunt you for a long time. An extraordinary new voice. --Justine Larbalestier, author of Liar and My Sister Rosa Suspenseful without being emotionally manipulative, compelling without resorting to shock value, this is a tightly spun debut that wrestles with many intense ideas and ends with a knife twist that will send readers racing back to the beginning again. --Booklist (starred review) This thought-provoking thriller examines issues such as abuse, gentrification, and the marginalization of people of color with nuance and sensitivity. The narrative deftly moves back and forth between past and present, building to a devastating conclusion. A spellbinding, profoundly moving choice for YA collections. --School Library Journal (starred review)


  • Winner of John Steptoe New Talent Award (New Author) 2019
My Shopping Basket
Your cart does not contain any items.