Abbey's Bookshop Logo
Go to my checkout basket
Login to Abbey's Bookshop
Register with Abbey's Bookshop
Gift Vouchers
Browse by Category

facebook
Google Book Preview
An Enchantment of Ravens
— —
Margaret Rogerson
An Enchantment of Ravens by Margaret Rogerson at Abbey's Bookshop,

An Enchantment of Ravens

Margaret Rogerson


9781481497596

Simon & Schuster


General fiction (Children's&YA);
Adventure stories (Children's&YA);
Fantasy & magical realism (Children's&YA);
Romance & relationships stories (Children's&YA)


Paperback

320 pages

$16.99
In stock
Ready to ship
order qty:  
Add this item to my basket

A skilled painter must stand up to the ancient power of the faerie courts-even as she falls in love with a faerie prince-in this gorgeous bestseller that's an ideal pick for fans of Holly Black, Maggie Stiefvater, and Laini Taylor (Publishers Weekly, starred review).

Isobel is an artistic prodigy with a dangerous set of clients: the sinister fair folk, immortal creatures who cannot bake bread or put a pen to paper without crumbling to dust. They crave human Craft with a terrible thirst, and Isobel's paintings are highly prized. But when she receives her first royal patron-Rook, the autumn prince-she makes a terrible mistake. She paints mortal sorrow in his eyes-a weakness that could cost him his life.

Furious, Rook spirits her away to his kingdom to stand trial for her crime. But something is seriously wrong in his world, and they are attacked from every side. With Isobel and Rook depending on each other for survival, their alliance blossoms into trust, then love-and that love violates the fair folks' ruthless laws. Now both of their lives are forfeit, unless Isobel can use her skill as an artist to fight the fairy courts. Because secretly, her Craft represents a threat the fair folk have never faced in all the millennia of their unchanging lives: for the first time, her portraits have the power to make them feel.

By:   Margaret Rogerson
Imprint:   Simon & Schuster
Country of Publication:   United States
Edition:   Reprint
Dimensions:   Height: 210mm,  Width: 140mm,  Spine: 25mm
Weight:   270g
ISBN:   9781481497596
ISBN 10:   1481497596
Pages:   320
Publication Date:   November 2018
Recommended Age:   From 14 years
Audience:   Young adult ,  Preschool (0-5)
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Margaret Rogerson is the author of the New York Times bestseller An Enchantment of Ravens and Sorcery of Thorns. She has a bachelor's degree in cultural anthropology from Miami University. When not reading or writing she enjoys sketching, gaming, making pudding, and watching more documentaries than is socially acceptable (according to some). She lives near Cincinnati, Ohio, beside a garden full of hummingbirds and roses. Visit her at MargaretRogerson.com.


The setting is deftly conveyed through dialogue and character interactions, thus avoiding any heavy exposition, and Rogerson keeps a nice balance between the development of Isobel and Rook's relationship and the action of the plot. The book's final clash between faerie and mortal is thrilling, but the motivations of the major villain have a touching resonance with Isobel and Rook's inescapable reality as mortal and immortal lovers. Fans of May's The Falconer (BCCB 6/14) will happily flock to this tale * BCCB * This fabulous, flowing read will engage readers quickly and many will not be able to put it down. The forbidden, romantic tension, fast-paced action sequences, and engaging narrative...will make this book a first choice. * VOYA * Rogerson draws on fairy lore while changing myriad details to suit her story, and in Isobel she provides a strong, confident heroine who may lose her heart but never her head. No glamour is needed to make readers fall for this one. * Kirkus Reviews * Rogerson's deft way with words and world building lifts tension and interest to a high point. An excellent choice for fans of Holly Black and Neil Gaiman. * Booklist online exclusive * An Enchantment of Ravens offers a beautifully built world and swiftly paced adventure with exactly the right amount of danger, heroics and romance. * Shelf Awareness * * Rogerson turns forbidden love into fresh adventure with danger, chases, a glorious ball, and unexpected narrative turns. Readers will delight in her interpretation of classic fairy themes and lore, and in the humor laced into the story...An ideal pick for fans of Holly Black, Maggie Stiefvater, and Laini Taylor. * Publishers Weekly, starred review * * Rogerson ably builds this fantasy world through canny details and contemporary dialogue, allowing for an enjoyable read by fantasy and non-fantasy readers alike. She also craftily depicts the power imbalance between Isobel and Rook, offering a refreshing dynamic in which Isobel often comes out on top. -VERDICT A funny, action-packed, and sweet romance sure to appeal to fans of Holly Black, Diana Wynne Jones, and Sarah J. Maas. * School Library Journal, starred review *

My Shopping Basket
Your cart does not contain any items.