Abbey's Bookshop Logo
Go to my checkout basket
Login to Abbey's Bookshop
Register with Abbey's Bookshop
Gift Vouchers
Browse by Category


Narrow Your Search
facebook
The Revelations of Carey Ravine by Debra Daley at Abbey's Bookshop,

The Revelations of Carey Ravine

Debra Daley


9781782069942

Hodder & Stoughton


Fiction & Literature;
Thriller & suspense


Paperback

432 pages

$29.99
In stock
Ready to ship
order qty:  
Add this item to my basket

A beautiful historical mystery for fans of Sarah Waters, Amitav Ghosh's The Sea of Poppies, and Jamaica Inn. London in the 1770s is bursting with opportunity. It's a city fuelled by new ideas and new money, where everything is for sale - including entree into the ruling class. Making their way in this buccaneering society are Carey Ravine, a spirited young woman of enigmatic background, and her husband, the charming, endlessly enterprising Oliver Nash. Carey and Nash share a historic connection to India and a desperate ambition to better themselves. But as Nash's plans draw them into a restless association of gamblers and secret societies, Carey begins to question what's really hidden behind the seedy glamour of their lives. Her unease grows with the appearance of a mysterious man whose appearance unearths a troubling secret from the past. Carey finds herself forced to investigate the truth behind the stranger's claims - and to confront her own illusions about herself.

By:   Debra Daley
Imprint:   Hodder & Stoughton
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 235mm,  Width: 156mm,  Spine: 15mm
Weight:   438g
ISBN:   9781782069942
ISBN 10:   1782069941
Pages:   432
Publication Date:   June 2016
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Debra Daley is an award-winning novelist and screenwriter. Her first novel, The Strange Letter Z, was published in 1995. Born in New Zealand, she has also worked as an editor, copywriter and journalist. She divides her time between London and Auckland.


I marvelled at this novel. Gripping, assured and powerfully atmospheric; you know at once you are in the hands of a master storyteller Rowan Pelling, on Turning the Stones A glorious, intricate period romance: a perfect mix of Georgian high society blended with wild Irish magic. Em is a feisty heroine and the denoument is as perfect as it is unexpected Manda Scott, on Turning the Stones Gripping, tautly plotted and hauntingly beautiful: Debra Daley is a writer to watch Vanora Bennett, on Turning the Stones An enjoyable melodrama involving a stolen child, boorish brutes intent on ravishing the heroine, a woman with a gift of second sight and a rakish smuggler Sunday Times on Turning the Stones

Your cart does not contain any items.