Abbey's Bookshop Logo
Go to my checkout basket
Login to Abbey's Bookshop
Register with Abbey's Bookshop
Gift Vouchers
Browse by Category

Language Book Centre - Foreign language learning, teaching and reading plus ESL

GALAXY Bookshop - Science Fiction and Fantasy books and pop culture specialist

Donate here to Indigenous Literacy Foundation



Posted October 05, 2018

Booker Prize winners in Abbey's window front


Our winner of 50 BOOKER PRIZE winners was Katherine Hicks.

Like Abbey's, the Booker Prize also turned 50 this year, so as part of our 50th birthday celebrations, Abbey's is giving you the chance to win a treasure of fine fiction for your own personal library.

During October, buy any Fiction title at Abbey's and you can enter our Golden Booker competition to win all of the past 50 years of Booker Prize winners – valued at over $1,100!

Enter in-store or online. In-store: fill out the entry form after you've made your purchase and pop your entry in the golden box. Online: enter promo code GOLDEN (in caps) with your purchase. We'll draw the winner in early November and notify the winner by email. The winner will also be announced on our website.

Good luck and happy reading!

2017 Lincoln in the Bardo by George Saunders

2016 The Sellout by Paul Beatty

2015 A Brief History of Seven Killings by Marlon James

2014 The Narrow Road to the Deep North by Richard Flanagan

2013 The Luminaries by Eleanor Catton

2012 Bring Up The Bodies by Hilary Mantel

2011 The Sense of an Ending by Julian Barnes

2010 The Finkler Question by Howard Jacobson

2009 Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel

2008 The White Tiger by Aravind Adiga

2007 The Gathering by Anne Enright

2006 The Inheritance of Loss by Kiran Desai

2005 The Sea by John Banville

2004 The Line of Beauty by Allan Hollinghurst

2003 Vernon God Little by DBC Pierre

2002 Life of Pi by Yann Martel

2001 True History of the Kelly Gang by Peter Carey

2000 The Blind Assassin by Margaret Atwood

1999 Disgrace by J. M. Coetzee

1998 Amsterdam by Ian McEwan

1997 The God of Small Things by Arundhati Roy

1996 Last Orders by Graham Swift

1995 The Ghost Road by Pat Barker

1994 How Late It Was, How Late by James Kelman

1993 Paddy Clarke Ha Ha Ha by Roddy Doyle

1992 Sacred Hunger by Barry Unsworth and The English Patient by Michael Ondaatje

1991 The Famished Road by Ben Okri

1990 Possession by A. S. Byatt

1989 The Remains of the Day by Kazuo Ishiguro

1988 Oscar and Lucinda by Peter Carey

1987 Moon Tiger by Penelope Lively

1986 The Old Devils by Kingsley Amis

1985 The Bone People by Keri Hulme

1984 Hotel du Lac by Anita Brookner

1983 Life & Times of Michael K by J. M. Coetzee

1982 Schindler's Ark by Thomas Keneally

1981 Midnight's Children by Salman Rushdie

1980 Rites of Passage by William Golding

1979 Offshore by Penelope Fitzgerald

1978 The Sea, The Sea by Iris Murdoch

1977 Staying On by Paul Scott

1976 Saville by David Storey

1975 Heat and Dust by Ruth Prawer Jhabvala

1974 The Conservationist by Nadine Gordimer and Holiday by Stanley Middleton

1973 The Siege of Krishnapur by J.G. Farrell

1972 G. by John Berger

1971 In a Free State by V. S. Naipaul

1970 Troubles by J. G. Farrell
Awarded in 2010. Due to an administrative decision that shifted the Booker Prize eligible publication dates, books published in the year 1970 were excluded from prize consideration for either the 1970 or the 1971 award. In an attempt to rectify the exclusion, in 2010 twenty-two novels published in 1970 were considered for what was deemed "The Lost Booker Prize." J. G. Farrell's Troubles was determined to be the winner, and the prize was awarded posthumously.

1970 The Elected Member by Bernice Rubens

1969 Something to Answer For by P. H. Newby

Abbey's 50 Logo

My Shopping Basket
Your cart does not contain any items.