Abbey's Bookshop Logo
Go to my checkout basket
Login to Abbey's Bookshop
Register with Abbey's Bookshop
Historical Fiction
The Secret Chord

The Secret Chord

Geraldine Brooks

$32.99

Double Reward Points
More info
1000 BC. The Second Iron Age. The time of King David. Anointed as the chosen one when just a young shepherd boy, David will rise to be king, grasping the throne and establishing his empire. But his journey is a tumultuous one and the consequences of his choices will resound for generations. In a life that arcs from obscurity to fame, he is by turns hero and traitor, glamorous young tyrant and beloved king, murderous despot and remorseful, diminished patriarch. His wives love and fear him, his sons will betray him. It falls to Natan, the courtier and prophet who both counsels and castigates David, to tell the truth about the path he must take. With stunning originality, acclaimed author Geraldine Brooks offers us a compelling portrait of a morally complex hero from this strange age - part legend, part history.
Add this item to my basket
The Emperor's Silver: Agents of Rome #5

The Emperor's Silver: Agents of Rome #5

Nick Brown

$19.99

Still recovering from his previous assignment in Arabia, imperial agent Cassius Corbulo has been spending most of his time and money on women and wine. Unfortunately for him, word of his achievements has reached the emperor Aurelian's deputy and he is sent north, tasked with smashing a counterfeiting gang. Cassius tracks the criminals to the city of Berytus, where his investigations are hampered by civil unrest and uncooperative officials, not to mention the personal problems of his servant Simo and bodyguard Indavara. Despite this - and intense pressure from his superiors - the young officer eventually closes in on the gang. But his enemies will do anything to protect their profits, and Cassius and Indavara soon find themselves fighting not only for the emperor, but for their very survival.
Add this item to my basket
Duke: Leopards of Normandy #2

Duke: Leopards of Normandy #2

David Churchill

$32.99

An epic trilogy that shows Mario Puzo's Godfather had nothing on the Dukes of Normandy - here is the tale of William the Conqueror in all its wild, intoxicating and dramatic glory

William the Bastard, boy Duke of Normandy, is alone in a world filled with enemies. His father, Robert, is dead and the men chosen to protect William are falling prey, one by one, to a conspiracy controlled and manipulated by a man who has spent a lifetime being mocked and ridiculed, but now burns with the need to be feared and obeyed.

In England, two women, equally matched in their beauty, strength and limitless ambition, seek power through their sons. They wield no swords and command no armies but their struggle for the Crown is as bitter as any war. And between them stands Godwin, Earl of Wessex, seeking to build a dynasty that will outlast them all.

One day, William will join the struggle for dominion over England. But for now he must fight just to survive, to reach manhood and then to impose his will on those who would oppose him. Including the young woman he wants for his wife.
Add this item to my basket
Versailles (TV Tie-In)

Versailles (TV Tie-In)

Elizabeth Massie

$19.99

Double Reward Points
More info
1667. The civil wars are over. King Louis XIV crushed the nobility's rebellion against his father; the throne is his. But far from giving up, the aristocracy hounds his every step, waiting for the right moment to seize power for themselves. If they will not be loyal, they will obey, no matter the cost. To ensnare them, he must spin a web: the greatest palace the world has ever seen, Versailles, a prison of opulence where his power is absolute. Trapped by his invitation, lured away from Paris, the nobles have no choice but to play Louis' game of manipulation and treachery. Meanwhile, the court becomes a battlefield of tactical liaisons and salacious passions. The Queen, Theresa of Austria, must fight to keep her husband's attentions while he falls under the spell of his powerful mistress, the sister of the King of England, who knows full well that the power of desire can bring even a king to his knees. Versailles is not the paradise it appears to be; instead, it is a labyrinth of treason and hushed secrets, of political schemes and deadly conspiracies. It is a place of passion and death, love and vengeance. The King will take what is rightfully his.
Add this item to my basket
Katherine of Aragon, the True Queen: Six Tudor Queens #1

Katherine of Aragon, the True Queen: Six Tudor Queens #1

Alison Weir

$29.99

Double Reward Points
More info
Katherine of Aragon: The True Queen by bestselling historian Alison Weir, author of The Lost Tudor Princess, is the first in a spellbinding six novel series about Henry VIII's Queens. Alison takes you on an engrossing journey at Katherine's side and shows her extraordinary strength of character and intelligence. Ideal for fans of Philippa Gregory and Elizabeth Chadwick.

A Spanish princess. Raised to be modest, obedient and devout. Destined to be an English Queen.  Six weeks from home across treacherous seas, everything is different: the language, the food, the weather. And for her there is no comfort in any of it. At sixteen years-old, Catalina is alone among strangers.  She misses her mother. She mourns her lost brother. She cannot trust even those assigned to her protection. 

Acclaimed, bestselling historian Alison Weir has based her enthralling account of Henry VIII's first wife on extensive research and new theories. She reveals a strong, spirited woman determined to fight for her rights and the rightful place of her daughter.  A woman who believed that to be the wife of a King was her destiny. History tells us how she died. This captivating novel shows us how she lived.
Add this item to my basket
The Constant Queen

The Constant Queen

Joanna Courtney

$29.99

Elizaveta is princess of Kiev, but that doesn't stop her chasing adventure. Defying conventions, she rides the rapids of the Dneiper alongside her royal brothers and longs to rule in her own right as a queen.

Elizaveta meets her match when the fearsome Viking warrior Harald Hardrada arrives at her father's court seeking fame and fortune. He entrusts Elizaveta to be his treasure keeper, holding the keys to his ever-growing wealth - and eventually to his heart.

Theirs is a fierce romance and the strength of their love binds them together as they travel across the vast seas to Denmark, Sweden, Norway and Iceland. In 1066, their ambition carries them to Orkney as they plan to invade England and claim the crown...

The Constant Queen is a powerful, absorbing novel which tells the story of a daring Viking warrior, his forgotten queen and a love that almost changed the course of history.
Add this item to my basket
The Last Pearl

The Last Pearl

Leah Fleming

$32.99

The Last Pearl: one magnificent gem; three lives bound together by fate... 1879, York. Greta Costello must rely on her wits to survive. She finds refuge as a Saturday girl for an old jeweller, Saul Abrahams, and her eye for detail, her long fingers and appreciation of beauty persuade Saul to train her as a pearl stringer. This skill will lead her through hardship and pain towards a new life. 1879, Scotland. Jem Baillie knows the immense power of a perfect pearl. His father was a fisher on a tributary of the Tay river in Perthshire, Scotland, and together they found the rarest of pearls, a great white pearl they call Queenie. When this is stolen from them, Eben vows revenge. Spanning generations and continents, tracing the rivers of Scotland and the Mississippi, The Last Pearl is a sweeping novel of desire and revenge, of family and freedom, and of one woman's journey to open the shell she has built around herself to reveal the true beauty within.
Add this item to my basket
Bloodline: Wars of the Roses #3

Bloodline: Wars of the Roses #3

Conn Iggulden

$22.99

Winter 1461. Richard Duke of York is dead, his ambitions in ruins, his head spiked on the walls of the city. King Henry VI is still held prisoner. His Lancastrian Queen rides south with an army of victorious northerners, accompanied by painted warriors from the Scottish Highlands. With the death of York, Margaret and her army seem unstoppable. Yet in killing the father, Margaret has unleashed the sons. Edward of March, now Duke of York, proclaims himself England's rightful king. Factions form and tear apart as snow falls. Through blood and treason, through broken men and vengeful women, brother shall confront brother, king shall face king. Two men can always claim a crown. Only one can keep it.
Add this item to my basket
Ravenspur: Wars of the Roses #4

Ravenspur: Wars of the Roses #4

Conn Iggulden

$32.99

The fourth and final novel in Conn Iggulden's epic War of the Roses series. The season of vengeance has begun. Praise for the Wars of the Roses series: 'Superbly plotted and paced' The Times 'Pacey and juicy, and packed with action' Sunday Times 'It's been said that Game of Thrones is the Wars of the Roses written as fantasy: this is the real thing, more glorious, more passionate, far, far more gritty' Manda Scott, bestselling author of Boudica 'Energetic, competent stuff; Iggulden knows his material and his audience' Independent 'A novel that seamlessly combines narrative, historical credence and great knowledge of the period' Daily Express 'A page-turning thriller' Mail on Sunday
Add this item to my basket
           
Your cart does not contain any items.